Jad Limcaco
Designers, Read This
2 min readFeb 27, 2016

--

Prototyping is now easy breezy in Sketch!

So I received beta access to Silver from Aby yesterday while I was at work, and as soon as I got home, I installed it, fired up Sketch, and took it for a test drive.

INCREDIBLE!

Everything worked well, and it was really easy to learn and pick it up. In the past, I’ve wanted to get into Pixate and Framer, but I’ve always been a little intimidated with the learning curve. (Although I downloaded Pixate a few days ago and want to give it another try.)

The interactions and commands within Silver are well thought out, and it comes with keyboard shortcuts that I’ve already started to familiarize myself with. (‘C’ is your friend!) There’s also little icons next to your layers to easily access the menus for the plugin. Using Silver within Sketch feels so natural, and it feels like it was created by Sketch instead of third-party developers. You can tell that Aby and Andrey put a lot of thought and work into this. I can’t wait to dive more into Silver and see how it can change my process for the better. I’ll be writing a more in-depth article once I’ve used it for a longer period. So many great tools at our disposal nowadays, and this is one that I’m going to be using a lot.

--

--

Jad Limcaco
Designers, Read This

My name is Jad Limcaco and I'm a product designer in the Silicon Valley. Follow me as @jadlimcaco and check out my work at www.jadlimcaco.com.