Ai for creative font

Andrey Soshchenko
Дизайн-кабак
4 min readJan 27, 2023

I have been trying to incorporate generative design tools and neural networks into my work as a designer for a long time. My interest in this topic began in 2016.

In the middle of my journey, I had an idea to generate a set of letters using a combination of designer programs.

I wanted to create something unique and visually striking, so I spent some time researching different design software and techniques that could help me achieve my goal.

After experimenting with different tools and techniques, I finally settled on a combination of programs that I felt would work best for my project.

The result was truly amazing, with the set of letters having a beautiful and modern aesthetic that was unlike anything I had seen before. The final product exceeded my expectations, and I was thrilled with the results.

The process of creating the set of letters was a great learning experience and I am excited to continue exploring the possibilities of using machine learning and neural networks in my design work.

How i did

In Midjourney, I generated many variants of individual letters. There were problems with some, but I knew how to solve them.

For example, the letter D and a set of options

I used photoshop to cut out the letter from the background. And further processing with filters for color correction and contrast.

So I processed all the images of the letters.

There were issues with certain letters, such as the ‘J’ and ‘I’. I approached them differently.

I extracted the ‘J’ symbol from other letters and wrong resultat, where this form was present and refined it in Photoshop.

dreamstime.com

The ‘I’ symbol had to be created based on the calligraphic style I specified in the prompt, and the result underwent numerous iterations until it became satisfactory

Some decent results for processing in Photoshop

I could have used neural networks to cut out the background, upscale to 8k resolution, and improve textures. However, I didn’t do this, since these tools still make mistakes and I was too lazy to correct them in the final files.

This article was written using a chatGPT

Telegram: ironvajra

Email: getaitools@gmail.com

--

--