The Good Reading - Collective #3

Amit Das
2 min readJul 6, 2013

--

Off late, there has been couple of gradual, but significant, developments in my professional life. To start with, I have abandoned Adobe Fireworks and moved completely to Photoshop. I have always been a fan of Photoshop but with Adobe discontinuing it’s attempt at a sole UI designing app, and frequent crashes I just had to stop using it. I mean I still use it for the older on-going projects at work but have gone full PS.

I just finished Manage Your Day To Day by 99U. Result?
I have Producteev, iCal, Notes and Evernote always running.
I favorite my favorite links and URLs on Twitter or Pocket them for reading over the weekend. I start my work day by doing the most interesting project of the day and then gradually shifting and switching between iterations on older projects or conceptualizing new ones and finding atleast an hour everyday for reading online and do some coding practice - I’m following Tap, Move, Shake by Todd Moore.

I’ll try to put more about this book in a separate post shortly.

What’s more, delegating isn’t easy for me. Even though the paperwork and other chores were piling up, I still had a hard time letting go. I have a feeling I’m not alone in this. It’s tough for the person who started the business to begin to let go. For more than a decade, I’ve been involved in every decision at this company, from which hosting company to use to what brand of paper towel goes in the kitchen. When you’re that used to having every decision run through you, it can be a bit unnerving to surrender control. I understand that it’s silly to believe that every small decision needs to run through you. But it’s such a primal instinct when your business is your baby.

Jason Fried

Thanks,

--

--

Amit Das

SVP, Design at Urban Company • Ex Crux Intelligence, Housing.com, FusionCharts.com, Fab.com, and a bunch more…