diving into to general assembly and nyc.

NYC, Here I Come.

Diving head first into the start up world.

Kevin McAlear
3 min readNov 25, 2013

--

So far my life has been a crazy ride. I’ve played in bands, opened a manufacturing plant, married a German, Invented production equipment, played ultimate frisbee in different states (haha), been an “Exec” (CIO at Service Spring Corp.), given talks about nerdy stuff, built all sorts of interesting systems, traveled all over the world, helped lots of people with various projects, been on the Y-PAC board for the Make A Wish foundation, and have lived in California, Ohio, Germany, and soon, New York. Now that I sound like a self-absorbed douche bag, I want to explain myself. I still don’t know what I’m doing. I just know that I love technology, people, and business and I want to change the world for the better. I also feel like General Assembly and New York City can help me with just that.

There is only one way to find out…

My Problem.

Someone once told me that I can do anything, just not everything.

It really is true, and unfortunately one of my strengths is my ability think about something from a lot of different perspectives; to really listen and understand people around me, and see things from their viewpoint. I get interested and passionate about what they are interested and passionate in and work that into my life. This gives me interest overload.

At some point I’m going to die.

With all of these interests floating around in my brain, it makes me sad that I only have a little bit of time on this earth to do something valuable, or even experience things. Because of this my brain is constantly in “dramatic mode” thinking along these lines:

“Is what I am doing right now going to make me, the people around me, and the world a better place? Because, come on man, you’re gonna be an old man soon. What are you doing with your life?!”

This creates two things in me; a bunch of drive to live life and minimize drama because, hey! I’ll be dead at some point anyways right? Why waste my time with that! Unfortunatly, this also can stress me out. It makes me think about the fact that life is ticking away every moment and that I better not just throw the time away.

I want to change the world.

I am wired to be sold out on something so big that I will never be able to do it alone. But together, with fantastic people, we can forever change the world and make it a better place for everyone! Corny, I know, but it fills my heart and when I’m filled up with passion I ooze it out all over everyone around me (gross). It’s contagious, people can feel it, they want more, and at the end of my life I want to look back and be able to say I was a part of something amazing. This makes me never really satified with anything I do. It keeps a growing hunger in me to do more, to be more, to make more. And I don’t know where I can really “change the world” yet, so I’m still looking.

My Solution?

I want to go where the “magic” happens.

So here is the plan thus far. Go to General Assembly, learn to build digital products and services in their Web Development Immersive, and network my little heart out with every startup and like minded person I can get my hands on.

I have seen great, big, crazy things happen right where I will be and I want to understand it. I want to live it, eat it, breathe it. I want to know how companies can go from nothing to world changing in only a couple of years. I want to understand the brains, the brawn, and the failures and successes involved and I can’t think of a better way than to be there, learning and contributing.

So with that said, I will be starting my adventure in January! I will be writing about it, mainly for myself, so I can document where I’ve been, and think about where I am going. I can’t imagine where I will be even next year, but I will do my best to be to closer to changing the world in a big way, one nerdy adventure at a time!

--

--

Kevin McAlear

I love traveling, technology, wisdom, inventing, ultimate frisbee, leadership, wine, philosophy, humor, culture, differences, relationships, & building systems