Siqi Jin
Design Thinking (Fall ’23)
2 min readOct 24, 2023

--

Reflection 2: The lovers by René Magritte

My younger sister, who studies in Washington D.C., visited me this weekend. I believed that the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) would be an excellent choice for a first-time visitor due to its collection of renowned art pieces. Some of these include Monet’s “Water Lilies,” Van Gogh’s “The Starry Night,” and Picasso’s “Les Demoiselles d’Avignon.” During our visit to MoMA, while my sister was enthralled by the famous works, I was particularly drawn to René Magritte’s “The Lovers.” I chose this painting for my second reflection because of its ambiguity and mystery. The artwork depicts two individuals kissing, their faces covered by white cloths, set against a contrasting backdrop of a blue-grey and brick red wall.

Although my sister felt it was clearly a man in a black suit kissing a woman in a red garment, I believe the painting invites multiple interpretations. To me, the veiled faces evoke a sense of forbidden love. The distinct, gender-specific attire might even be disguising something more profound. What captivates me about this piece is its inherent ambiguity. It allows for various interpretations, none of which can be definitively labeled as right or wrong because of Magritte’s own refusal to explain his work. Limiting our interpretation to the genders of the figures in the painting seems superficial, especially in a world rife with unconventional affections. I was reminded of the provocative news about a woman who married a bridge in France. The debut of ChatGPT also ignited ethical debates around AI, with some individuals even admitting an emotional connection to AI chatbots. Could this be viewed as a contemporary manifestation of forbidden love? Reflecting upon these nuances, I find René Magritte’s “The Lovers” is a masterpiece of resonating depth.

--

--