Reflection blog post 2

Pengfei Li
Design Thinking (Fall ’23)
2 min readOct 25, 2023

I recently attended an art show at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. The exhibition features the work of contemporary artist Yayoi Kusama, known for her immersive and dynamic installations. This particular exhibition is called “Yayoi Kusama: Infinity Mirrors,” and it promises to be an exciting and thought-provoking experience.

Reasons for Choosing the Art Experience: I chose to attend the “Yayoi Kusama: Infinity Mirrors” exhibition for several reasons. First, I heard a lot about Yayoi Kusama and her unique artistic style, which often involves the use of mirrors, polka dots, and bright colors. Her work piqued my curiosity and I wanted to see it firsthand to understand the hype surrounding her art. Additionally, I have always been attracted to contemporary art, and I was eager to explore how Kusama’s installations interact with viewers and create immersive experiences.

The exhibition “Yayoi Kusama: Infinity Mirrors” is an extraordinary and unforgettable artistic experience. It consists of a series of mirrored rooms and installations, each offering a different perspective and feel. Here are a few key points that stood out during my visit:

1. Immersion and participation: Yayoi Kusama’s art has a strong sense of immersion. When I entered the first mirrored room, I was immediately surrounded by endless reflections of myself, complete with countless colorful dots. The feeling of being surrounded by art is both disorienting and mesmerizing. This makes me feel like a part of the artwork rather than a passive observer.

2. Time and space: The concepts of time and space are cleverly used in the exhibition. In the infinity mirror room, I lost all sense of time. The reflection seems to go on forever, creating a feeling of infinity. It is a powerful reminder of the relativity of our existence in the universe.

3. Emotional response: Yayoi Kusama’s works evoke a variety of emotions. Some rooms feel peaceful and meditative, while others are frantic and chaotic. The contrast of these emotional states made me reflect on the power of art to elicit different feelings and trigger thinking.

Overall, the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s “Yayoi Kusama: Infinity Mirrors” exhibition is an extraordinary artistic experience that pushes the boundaries of traditional art forms. It challenged the way I think about art and its interaction with audiences. The use of mirrors, repetition and bright colors created a surreal, almost otherworldly atmosphere that left a lasting impression on me. The experience was a reminder of the diversity and creativity of the art world, and how it continues to evolve and attract new audiences.

--

--