A first approach to ceramics

Elisa Nève
Design Thinking for Social Innovation
2 min readMar 22, 2023

Since I have landed in Lisbon, I can not stop walking around to discover more and more parts of this city full of surprises. I really enjoy exploring its surroundings and the small streets in the center, it allows you to discover very nice places that offer different kind of things.

This is basically how I got introduced to ceramics. Being a creative person that thrives by creating things, I love cooking, tinkering, painting…

In Brussels, my hometown, there are many possibilities to get ceramics classes. However, it is super expensive and the courses are very rigid. You are only entitled to a certain weight of clay, a few hours of work and only few colors are available to the beginners because the nicest colors are more expensive. These were basically the reasons why I never even tried to have a class.

During one of the many walks around that I take in the lower town, I found myself in São Bento on a street that I love called “R. Poiais de São Bento”. São Bento is a district where I really enjoy walking around, there are many small stores with Portuguese brands that aren’t known abroad and with a hippie style, the people are very welcoming. It is a very nice neighborhood.

I already went twice to ceramics classes in two different workshops: (because of course you even have two places in this street where you can try ceramics). The first one was at Casa Angelita which is an artist studio that often throws tattoo exhibitions and workshops, small events like “Ceramics & Wine evenings”.

The atmosphere is soft and soothing, you feel good there. I had time to create 2 pieces with the quantity of clay I needed (weight unlimited). After 2 hours of work and chatting they even offered me to stay to paint my pieces while they were going to close the store.
I really loved this workshop and it actually felt like therapy, you are focused on something you are creating, at the same time you can think a lot about what is going on in your current life and also discuss with the people around you.

I am for sure going to go again!

--

--