A magic evening with my family

Fabiana Jimenez
Design Thinking for Social Innovation
2 min readMar 20, 2022
Atlanta’s Fox Theater

I remember back in 2016 when I was with my parents on vacation in Orlando (Florida) out of curiosity and thanks to its name recognition, we decided to go to a Cirque du Soleil show, more than a show we found it to be a very magical and stunning event. Thus, from that experience on we decided that when we had the opportunity, we would go to one of these shows again.

I recently went to visit my parents to spend quality family time with them. They are now living in Atlanta (Georgia). In the midtown of this city, the Fox Theater is located, which is a restored movie palace turned cultural jewel. This National Historic Landmark holds a special place in Atlanta’s heart. Originally intended to be the Yaarab Temple Shrine headquarters, the Fox Theatre Atlanta welcomed movie audiences for the first time on Christmas Day 1929. Nowadays, the Fox Theatre Atlanta welcomes visitors to different performances and events. Fortunately for us, at that time there were performances of Cirque Dreams with a similar concept to Cirque du Soleil, both entertainment companies are of Canadian origin. We did not hesitate and bought our tickets. This is where the story begins.

It was an indescribable experience from the moment I entered the theatre, as it maintains its original 1920s look. It is a truly impressive and beautiful place; art is in every corner. Then when we finally managed to find our seats, I was able to sit and appreciate the facade of the stage which I found spectacular as well, I could notice every detail and realized it had a Moroccan theme/style. Finally, the show started and what captured me the most was the performance of the artists and their acrobatic ability, high flexibility, agility, speed and always with a smile on their faces. There was also singing included and this was just incredible, not to mention the beautiful art involved in the creation of the costumes that each act wore.

Many people may be skeptical about these kinds of events, I was too. But now I would recommend it 100%, at least once in a lifetime.

--

--