And there, from far up above, the jewel of Sintra catches everyones eyes.

Dena Sabour
Design Thinking for Social Innovation
3 min readMar 20, 2022

The Palace of Pena

“In close harmony with the magical character of the palace, triggers emotions of mystery and discovery. In its nooks and corners, our gaze gets lost amongst its charms.”

On sunny Friday I used the opportunity to drive to Sintra, to look at the beautiful castle of Sintra. Colors, patterns, and history are the perfect combination of things that fascinate and inspire me; and that is exactly what the castle of Sintra has to offer. After a long exhausting hike up to the palace, I felt a rush of endorphins when I saw the bright sun shine onto the vivid colors of the palace. As if having stepped out of a fairy tale, this has been the place of dreams for all the generation who have passed here and gazed upon its magnificence.

The castle was built with a purpose to serve as a summer residence of the King Ferdinand II. However, after his death, the palace was passed into the possession of his second wife Elisa Hensler, Countess of Edla, who later sold the palace to King Luis. When I walked through the palace I made sure to grasp on to all the patterns of this majestic place. During class I realized that I am cautious when using bright colors, extreme movements or trying out new things. This is why I chose Sintra to be “my muse” and my inspiration for creativity, because I believe that there is nothing that necessarily “matches” in theory, but it works in practice. Never would I think of bringing a bright yellow together with a bright red, but in Sintra it these two colors dance together magically.

Inside of the castle the mood was very different than outside. The atmosphere was a lot more timid, and everything was very small and assorted in comparison to the outside. I noticed the small beds, wardrobes, and bathrooms. At first it was really funny to me, but after that I realized how much humans have developed not only in intelligence but also in size. I had to bend down to go through specific doors, which simultaneously made me so much more aware of my surroundings. I noticed the different patterns on every wall and every roof. Everything looked similar from afar, but so different when close up. The designs of the rooms and doors were spectacular, but not necessarily practical for todays day and age.

We were all taking pictures, everyone was touching the walls and the objects, caught in thoughts and imagination. Everything about the palace represented the beautiful architectural style of Romanticsm in the 19th Century. There were statues in every corner that looked like mythical figures. The hidden paths surrounding the Palace ensured that every individual could interpret the story of this magical place individually.

It felt like a fairytale town in Portugal

The patterns remind me of my home-country Iran. Everything in the castle appeals to me from an architectural and cultural perspective. It was a beautiful experience, that really stimulated my creativity and constructed a connection between portugal and charm for me.

--

--