Art makes us — Museu Coleção Berardo

Emma Nicora
Design Thinking for Social Innovation
3 min readMar 18, 2022

On February 5, I decided to spend a pleasant day at the museum. I had heard by word of mouth that the Museu Coleção Berardo was a splendid gallery of modern and contemporary art. I was then told that it was considered the main museum of modern and contemporary art in the county, and I can say that I could see why it has this reputation. It is located in Belém and the museum showcases the most significant art movements and pieces of art from the twentieth century to present day.

The reason I selected this museum over others is that I recently started learning to paint under the watchful eye of my mom, whose passion is painting. More specifically, I am inspired by what is called minimalist geometric art. Therefore, as soon as I heard about the excistence of this art museum, I thought that it would be an opportunity for me to better grasp all these art movements. Indeed, we see works of art every day, in different forms, without really knowing which movement they belong to, and I thought that this was something I wanted to deepen my knowledge of. In addition, as I started painting fairly recently, visiting an art gallery/museum is clearly the first thought that comes to mind when looking for inspiration.

As far as I am concerned, this experience was very inspiring for me. Even though some of the artworks or parts of the gallery were dedicated to art movements that I don’t adhere to as much, it was still interesting to be able to discover more about them, in order to better appreciate the hidden message behind all these paintings. Furthermore, I have to admit that I liked most of the works and it was interesting to become aware of the style that I particularly appreciate by taking pictures and making a collage of the ones that inspired me the most, as you can see at the top of the article. Finally, what I found most valuable was that I went to see this exhibition with a friend who does not share the same artistic tastes as me. Therefore, it was enriching to realize how art is such a subjective concept. Also, it was striking that when we both looked at the same piece of art, we would actually witness different meanings.

This gateway made me realize how important it is to get out of our daily habits and get inspired. Whether it’s visiting an art gallery that has marked two centuries of art, or listening to a new kind of music, as I did when I visited the Fado museum a few weeks ago, it’s essential to observe the world around us to better embrace it, to live in it, and to draw something from it.

Here is the link to the site: https://en.museuberardo.pt
I hope I have sparked your curiosity and enthusiasm and I recommend that you take the occasion of a rainy afternoon to discover it.

--

--