Design Thinking for Social Innovation: A Journey in Empathy and Community Building

During my time at university, I was accustomed to a structured approach to work, using tools like PowerPoint, Word, and Excel. However, the course “Design Thinking for Social Innovation” introduced me to a whole new way of thinking and working. Unlike the linear, step-by-step methods I was used to, design thinking is inherently non-linear and dynamic.
What made the course particularly intriguing and challenging was its practical orientation. We worked in teams on real-world problems that required innovative social solutions. This hands-on approach not only allowed us to engage directly with communities and stakeholders but also to truly understand their needs and craft solutions tailored to them.
This course taught me the importance of flexibility and openness to new methods of problem-solving. It wasn’t just about finding answers; it was about asking the right questions. The unpredictable nature of design thinking made each session exciting and uncertain. This experience profoundly changed my perspective on learning and working, better preparing me for the demands of a rapidly changing world.

--

But let`s start from the beginning:

When our professor mentioned that it was normal to feel lost in this course, I didn’t take it very seriously i must admit. But the gravity of her words truly hit home when we were told we’d be working alongside immigrants to help facilitate their integration into Portugal. I thought, “How on earth are we, as students, supposed to manage such a task?” We were still newcomers ourselves, unfamiliar with the laws and the procedures of this land — clearly, it was going to be tough.I was also worried about Rafique’s English and that he might feel like we were just using him for our school project. However, this is where I had my first major learning moment. My initial judgments were proven completely baseless when we first met Rafique. Hearing about his life, his impressive qualifications, and the problems he faced in finding work in Portugal was eye-opening.
This encounter with Rafique was a revelation. It taught me the importance of keeping an open mind and making personal connections before forming opinions. This moment was a significant one, opening my eyes to the fact that everyone has their own story that is worth listening to. This personal aspect, combined with the practical application of our course knowledge, gave the Design Thinking course a deeper significance and transformed the challenge into a rewarding learning experience.

Learning Through Doing: Strengthening Design Skills with Hands-On Practice

The course blended theoretical knowledge with practical applications, revealing my preference for hands-on learning over traditional study methods. Engaging in activities like building models from assorted materials and tackling creative challenges with LEGO, I learned that constraints often breed creativity and innovation. These exercises demonstrated the power of constructionism theory, which posits that constructing physical models can simplify complex concepts and enhance understanding.

Collaborative Growth: Building Bridges with Rafique
Our main project involved organizing an event with Rafique that aimed to bring together people from various backgrounds to share storys and learn Portuguese — a language Rafique deemed essential for integration. The transformation in Rafique from a reserved individual to an open, joyful participant was the highlight of our collaboration. His enthusiasm for the project, especially during the prototype event we organized with the Lisbon Project, was infectious and inspiring.
This event not only allowed Rafique to shine but also gave him a platform to connect deeply with others, fostering meaningful dialogues and friendships. His active participation in the Final Exhibition at Nova, where he proudly presented our work and engaged with other projects, underscored the profound personal and professional growth that occurred through our partnership.

Analyzing Strengths, Weaknesses, and New Learning Horizons
Reflecting on this experience, I recognize my strength in adapting to practical, hands-on learning environments where I can directly see the impact of my efforts. However, I also identified a significant weakness: becoming too emotionally involved in the projects. While my deep emotional investment often drives my dedication and commitment, it sometimes leads to disappointment when facing unchangeable realities, such as legislative barriers that cannot be addressed through our projects alone. For example getting the residence card.
This realization has sparked a desire to further develop my ability to balance emotional involvement with practical constraints, enhancing my effectiveness as a design thinker. Moreover, the aspects of ideation and prototyping particularly resonated with me, and I am eager to explore these areas more deeply in future projects, potentially focusing on how they can be applied to broader social issues beyond language learning and cultural integration.

Carrying Forward the Lessons of Empathy and Innovation
The course “Design Thinking for Social Innovation” has not only equipped me with valuable skills but also transformed my approach to learning and problem-solving. It has instilled in me a profound appreciation for the human aspect of design thinking, emphasizing that understanding and empathy are as crucial as practical solutions. As I move forward, I am inspired to apply these principles to create more inclusive and empowering environments, where every individual, regardless of their background, can find their place and thrive.

--

--