Get inspired: My Experience at the Prado Museum

--

Discovering the “Black Paintings”: A Historical Art Excursion in Madrid

At the end of March, I headed to the Spanish capital where I visited many museums. What particularly stayed with me was the “Black Paintings” exhibition at the Prado Museum. Between 1819 and 1824, Francisco de Goya painted a series of fourteen works, known as the “Black Paintings”, directly onto the walls of both floors of his house. They were only photographed half a century after his death and were later removed from the walls to be transferred onto canvas. This series of art possibly reflects Goya’s mental state after suffering several illnesses and the loss of his hearing, becoming increasingly misanthropic. Another theory is that the paintings reveal Goya’s political disillusionment, as he had experienced the madness and violence of war and the political situation in Spain at that time. The “Black Paintings” depict human suffering, illness, poverty, witchcraft and nightmarish ideas.

The Emotional Challenge of the “Black Paintings”: A Personal Reflection

The “Black Paintings” exhibition provided me with a unique experience, as it evoked different feelings in me than other exhibition pieces. Usually, I walk through museum rooms with great curiosity and look at works very closely in order to better perceive details. This was not the case with the “Black Paintings”. As soon as I entered the exhibition room, I felt a noticeable intimidation: the dark room lighting, the somber color tones, and the partly disturbing facial expressions on the paintings created an almost tangible heaviness. Initially, I hesitated to examine certain paintings more closely. In the middle of the room, I felt surrounded by negativity and experienced a pressing feeling. My steps towards the individual works were very hesitant and I spoke much quieter with my friend than in previous rooms. This unusual environment made me cautious, almost vigilant, as if I was on guard against some unnamed danger.

The Power of Art: An Intense Impression from Goya’s “Saturn”

In the exhibition of the “Black Paintings”, I was particularly impressed by how powerfully the ugliness was depicted in its expressive form. Especially the work “Saturn Devouring One of His Sons” left a strong impression. The grotesque and almost disturbing representation of a father eating his son — transferred the oppressive theme to my own emotional world. I like and value this experience, as it made me realize how intensely artistic representations and their presentation can affect me. It was an experience that impressively demonstrated the power of art to evoke emotions and create certain atmospheres.

--

--