LX Factory — a cultural and historical convergence

Entrance to the LX Factory

With my boyfriend visiting for the last 1,5 weeks, it was the first time since my arrival in Lisbon that I actively went out and explored the city, like a tourist. Since I had never had a chance to visit the city before coming on exchange here end of January, I took the chance and went full tourist mode.

Because the weather was quite nice (compared to the storm and rain that we had just a few days before) and we did not want to spend the day inside, we decided to visit the LX Factory in Alcântara. I somehow knew what it would look like, because I, of course, looked it up on social media, however, I was unaware of the details of what exactly there is to discover.

About the LX Factory

The LX Factory is a vibrant, creative hub. It was established in a complex of abandoned industrial buildings dating back to the 19th century. This unique space has been transformed into a lively cultural and artistic area that hosts a diverse range of businesses including fashion boutiques, artists’ studios, bookshops, restaurants, and bars. The factory’s urban renewal has made it a symbol of Lisbon’s contemporary culture and creativity.

Quiet and Empty Factory Premises

Why I chose this experience

When we entered the premises, it was still empty and some of the shops were not even open yet. (I guess I still need to adapt to the Portuguese timing of the day ;)) However, because it was so quiet I was able to enjoy walking through much more and soak up all the impressions without being jostled left and right.

It was stunning to experience the LX Factory as a place where the past and the present merge so seamlessly. The transformation of historical industrial buildings into a contemporary cultural and social hub represents a tangible connection between Lisbon’s rich history and its vibrant modern creative scene. This juxtaposition of old and new intrigued me and promised a unique experience different from traditional museums or galleries.

Why I enjoyed my visit at the LX Factory so much

Because we had been at the site earlier in the morning, the tranquil atmosphere allowed me to fully absorb and appreciate the history and culture around me. The quietness of the place and the first rays of sunshine in the morning falling through between the buildings provided a source of inspiration and reflection. It felt like a direct interaction with Lisbon’s cultural soul, offering insights not only into the works themselves but also into the city’s culture and future.

Connection Social Innovation and our project

When we first decided to visit the LX Factory it was not my intention to use it for this reflection, because I did not think there would be any connection that could be leveraged. However, today, a couple of days after the visit and after I had time to reflect upon it, I believe that there indeed are interlinkages. One I would like to mention is the connection between the past and future and different cultures. Today, the city of Lisbon is changing a lot. With thousands of (im)migrants moving to the city, it of course is changing. However, as can be seen from the LX Factory, change can also be a good thing. Merging the old-established, traditional and historic Lisbon with the various new cultures that have been added in recent years, it becomes obvious that wonderful things can emerge. This is how a city continues to develop. So, in my opinion, we should try to welcome people from other cultures with open arms, accept them into society and learn from them.

Some food for thought: would you think an axe-throwing bar would exist at the LX Factory if it wasn’t for the Americans immigrating to Portugal and settling in Lisbon?

The US AXE CLUB

--

--