Roger Waters Concert: A Psychedelic and Political Experience

Paul Hofer
Design Thinking for Social Innovation
3 min readMar 25, 2023
Roger Waters at his latest concert in Lisbon

Yesterday, I went to a concert by Roger Waters, the former bassist, and vocalist of Pink Floyd. As a fan of Pink Floyd, one of my favorite bands, I had always wanted to attend concerts by all of the former band members who still tour. I had purchased my ticket months in advance, and I went alone because none of my friends in Lisbon shared my enthusiasm for Pink Floyd. Pink Floyd is known for their psychedelic and experimental music and for their spectacular live performances, which often include visual effects such as laser shows and projections. Their albums always tell a self-contained story and address themes such as isolation, loneliness, war, capitalism, and madness. For example, the album “Animals,” which was largely written by Roger Waters, is based on George Orwell’s “Animal Farm” and deals with issues of social class and power.

Overall, I found the concert very impressive. The stage show was visually stunning, with large inflatable pigs and sheep flying through the air and intense lighting effects. Roger spoke about his emotions and shared personal stories that I found very touching. The concert also focused heavily on the mental health issues, drug use, and reality distortion experienced by former band member Syd Barrett.

Roger Waters at his concert at Berlin Wall 1990 with 320.000 fans

Roger has always used his shows to advocate against wars, but his tours have become increasingly politicized in recent years. On his previous tour in 2018, his message was almost entirely about opposing Donald Trump. Yesterday, he conveyed his political views through quotes, stories, and images displayed on the stage set. For example, during one song, the American presidents since Bush were shown on a screen along with the wars they waged and the civilian casualties they caused. At another point in the concert, Roger used his stage setup to advocate for transgender rights and support for Palestinians.

Primarily, I appreciate Roger Waters for his music. I absolutely share many of his values, but not all. I felt that the concert was too political, and I would have preferred to focus more on the music. In recent weeks, Roger has received criticism in Germany for his opinion of Israel’s policies and for his support for an initiative that seeks to sanction Israel. Before the concert, I had not researched the criticism because I wanted to enjoy the concert for it’s music but not it’s political messages. However, during the show, I felt that I could not fully express my joy for the music because I did not want to be perceived as aligning with Roger’s political views, since I did not research the latest criticism. Additionally, the political focus was primarily on the United States. At some point on the concert, I felt like I was attending a US political rally rather than a concert.

Roger Waters has the freedom to use his concerts as a platform for political activism, but he should also consider the fact that some audience members may not share his political views and may attend the show purely for the musical experience. He was actively excluding people who do not share his political values at the beginning of the concert. As I have mentioned, even though I share many of his values, primary I appreciate him for his music rather that his political activism. Overall I enjoyed the concert, but sometimes felt uncomfortable not knowing how to behave at some of his statements.

--

--