Unveiling the Power of Design Thinking

--

Twelve exciting weeks have passed, filled with journeys back to my childhood, dog competitions, fascinating guest lectures and finally a successful exhibition. I enrolled in this course to learn more about different innovative methods. What I didn’t expect, however, was that I would gain a completely new perspective and way of thinking. DT4SI was the first course I took during my semester abroad at NOVA SBE, and from the beginning I was pleasantly surprised by the unconventional design of this course — round tables that encouraged collaborative work, a ban on electronic devices and an abundance of craft materials. This set-up continued throughout the semester and made every Monday an exciting start to the week.

Right in the first lecture, we had the opportunity to experience the essence of design thinking. Within an hour, we sketched wallets, asked our fellow students about their requirements and took a close look at their own wallets. Then we created a prototype of the ideal wallet using Playdoo, paper and various other materials. I have to admit that I was overwhelmed at that moment, however, I realised that this course was going to be different from anything I had experienced before.

So what did I take away from this course? Looking back, I gained three important insights that became clearer as the course progressed:

Creativity is a Mindset!

From a young age, I loved to draw, build things and explore my imagination with boundless curiosity. However, as I grew older, I became more and more apprehensive about showing my creativity for fear of being judged for it. Yet this course showed me the power of just doing and putting aside concerns about what others think. I discovered the joy of acting out my creative instincts without reservations.

In particular, the “Lego” exercise brought out my inner child again.
At first, I had difficulties finding a solution within the boundaries of conventional objects and shapes. As the exercise progressed, I felt more and more comfortable pushing boundaries and crossing borders — for instance, simply stating “That’s a fish!”. Also, the amazing level of creativity displayed by my classmates was truly inspiring. The experience reminded me that creativity knows no boundaries and that it thrives when given space to flourish.

Empathy is key!

I have always been intrigued by the emergence of great and successful ideas. Whenever I saw them in other people’s work, I thought “Such a simple idea and just what you need”, but I never managed to get such an idea myself.

This course has transformed my mindset. It has taught me the significance of truly listening to customers and understanding their needs, challenging my previous assumptions and discouraging reliance solely on my intuition. Through active engagement, conducting insightful interviews guided by the interviewees, and synthesizing their perspectives, I have gained a deep understanding of their preferences, pain points, and desires. These insights have motivated me to think outside my box and generate ideas that are not ideal for me, but more importantly, optimal for the customer.

Additionally, the readings and podcasts helped me to further explore the dimensions of empathy. The exploration of keeping a photo diary sparked my interest, prompting me to experience the world through the eyes of our customers — specifically, our fellow Portuguese students. Incorporating this approach into our primary research yielded surprising results that defied my initial expectations. Moreover, the photo diaries of my teammates provided inspiration as I observed how other international students, like myself, experienced Lisbon. This eye-opening experience emphasized the essential role of empathy in the design thinking process and showcased the diverse avenues through which valuable insights can be attained.

Failure does not mean I failed!

Another learning for me was that failure is an integral part of the journey to grow and break boundaries. Initially, failures were very frustrating for me, and although they still are, my perspective has fundamentally changed. I used to have difficulty regaining my motivation after setbacks and trying to solve problems with different approaches. I was very attached to my ideas, a phenomenon we affectionately referred to in class discussions as “falling in love with the idea”.

However, the guest lecture by Isaac was a powerful source of inspiration for me. His unwavering enthusiasm as he told stories of his own unsuccessful ventures were inspiring. This helped me realise that failure has immense lessons about understanding customer needs, even if they are not fully aware of them. By embracing the concept of rapid prototyping and iteration, I discovered the ability to incorporate my failures into the process of refinement.

Our very first brainstorming on the challenge

When I think about the beginning of our project, which dealt with the complex issue of gentrification, my initial thoughts of “how are we going to develop a viable social idea in just 12 weeks?”. Today, I reflect back on that time with a grin, because it was only through our failures that we finally created a remarkable product. It is not necessary to aim for a perfect and finished product from the beginning (nor is it possible!). Rather, it is the willingness to accept failure, iterate relentlessly and adapt based on customer insights that leads to success in the dynamic landscape of design thinking.

Overall, I really enjoyed this course! Thank you Anne-Laure and Beatriz for guiding us to grow beyond ourselves! It was a great pleasure and I am very grateful for all the valuable things you taught us.

--

--