A Surreal Journey Through Sensory Art: Visiting Mercer Labs

Shangpu Wu
Design Thinking Spring

--

Mercer Labs, which opened on February 14, 2024, is a surreal art exhibition that focuses on immersive experiences. Located at 21 Dey Street in New York City’s Financial District, it was designed by artist Roy Nachum. Nachum created 14 astonishing art spaces using projectors, LED lights, and sound lighting equipment to create a unique sensory experience.

To be honest, what initially sparked my interest in Mercer Labs was its relatively high ticket price. Even the student ticket cost me $46, which is more expensive than most exhibitions. When I checked Instagram and TikTok, many people claimed it was worth the price, so I chose it for my spring break. Another reason the exhibition stands out is how it breaks through the limits of art and real space. I have always been interested in interactive art, so I looked forward to seeing the interaction between real life and technology in this exhibition.

After visiting Mercer Labs, I truly believe it is a journey that can stimulate creativity and inspiration. Any plane we saw — be it the ceiling, the floor, or any wall — was a touchable, constantly changing screen. It seems no static image could accurately capture my experience. The entire exhibition was like a dream that lasted for hours, sometimes making you uncertain about which parts were real. Another concept that ran through the exhibition was the braille design that helped people with disabilities to visit. The artist intentionally used mediums like sculpture to immerse everyone in these spaces.

Roy Nachum’s work inspired new ideas about visual thinking. When we discuss creativity, visual or language thinking, we might assume that people can first see. However, his work tells me that visual skills are not confined to any sense. When I closed my eyes in the spaces of Mercer Labs, I still built a rich mental world through my hearing, smell, touch, and even a kind of associative power. Perhaps in the future, as virtual reality technology develops, works similar to Mercer Labs will become more accessible and authentic.

--

--