An Interesting and Meaningful Class

Huimeng Guo
Design Thinking Spring
2 min readMay 5, 2024

Time flies, the semester is over. In this class, I gained valuable insights that go beyond purely academic study. First, I learned the complete process of building a project from scratch. Whether it’s gathering ideas, building a framework, or reflecting on the process. This process gave me a clearer idea of how to design a project in an organized way. Moreover, the classroom atmosphere of this course is very relaxed and free. The classroom activities of building blocks and drawing not only cultivate our divergent design thinking, but also reduce my pressure on the classroom.

In discussion reading, I learned that using vivid language or images to describe can transform complex concepts into easy to understand forms. For a designer, it is easier to capture people’s hearts by using specific scenarios and cases to illustrate abstract things. These readings provide a theoretical framework that complements our practical experience.

Furthermore, team projects are simulations of real society. Through team projects, several strangers were brought together. Although we have different perspectives and personalities, our goals are the same at this time. Although we may also encounter obstacles in projects due to different viewpoints. But open communication in every class allows us to brainstorm ideas and play to each member’s strengths. A key takeaway I also realized is the importance of effective communication and collaboration in a team environment. This experience taught me to listen because everyone has limitations and innovations in their thinking. When listening to other people’s ideas, more innovative ideas may be stimulated. At the end of this class, not only did we successfully complete the project report, I also gained several friends.

In the future, my goal is to actually work on some design projects. I recognize that in any career path, the ability to collaborate, communicate and lead effectively is integral to achieving goals and driving innovation. By combining reading and practical experience, and taking an interdisciplinary perspective, I will further explore and meaningfully contribute to the team’s success.

In addition to the knowledge I learned in class, I am actually more grateful for the professor’s help. When I reported, I gave an example: a girl from China was not active in class because she was shy. In fact, this person was myself. Since I came to a foreign country for the first time, the unfamiliar environment and my unfluent spoken English made me very afraid of expressing myself in class. But every time I put forward my ideas, her encouraging eyes and positive feedback greatly improved my self-confidence.

All in all, this class not only enriched my academic understanding, but also equipped me with practical skills and insights that go beyond the classroom. As I embark on future endeavors, I believe these learnings will provide a strong foundation for professional growth and personal development.

--

--