Blog Reflection 2

Zekai Chen
Design Thinking Spring
2 min readMar 25, 2024

Context:

During spring break, I visited a very famous museum in New York called SPYSCAPE. This museum is on 8th Ave in Manhattan. The entire museum is about the historical events of spies and the special facilities used by spies. Most museums only allow visitors to view exhibits, but SPYSCAPE is different. It allows visitors to learn about spies through various fun interactions, which makes the entire museum browsing process very interesting. The entire museum brings visitors a special art experience.

Rationale:

There are two main reasons why I chose to visit SPYSCAPE. First, because I have always heard from my good friends that I must go to this museum when I come to New York. I really enjoy visiting museums. When I traveled to Washington, I visited almost every museum. Now that I live in NY, I can’t miss the SPYSCAPE. The second reason is because I recently watched the “Mission: Impossible” movie series. There are many special spy props in the movie, which I think are very powerful, so I wanted to compare the difference between the portrayal of spies in reality and in movies by visiting SPYSCAPE.

Analysis:

After visiting SPYSCAPE, I thought it was a very interesting museum with many creative interactive facilities. What impressed me most was the simulated spy surveillance facility. We needed to wear headphones and follow instructions to find the corresponding person or object on different surveillance screens. There are three stages in total from easy to difficult. This is a project that tests memory and visual ability very much. I was very serious when experiencing this project because I need to pay attention to all surveillance pictures at all times, some subtle changes may be the key to finding the target. I was also very surprised by some of the historical exhibits at SPYSCAPE, such as a miniature camera that can be mounted on a pen or a locator disguised as lipstick. I thought these were just fictional products in the movie, but I didn’t expect that they actually appeared in reality. Overall, SPYSCAPE brought me a new experience and gave me a new understanding of the spies.

Connection to the Class:

I think the creativity of SPYSCAPE can be linked to design thinking. The overall environment design of SPYSCAPE uses dark colors to create a sense of mystery. The interactive facilities in SPYSCAPE are designed to allow visitors to find solutions to decrypt problems through their own thinking, just like we do in every class, we open our minds to find some insights for the questions we have. Finally, I would like to say that design thinking can be reflected anywhere in life.

This is the photo I took at SPYSCAPE. In the photo is the simulated surveillance facility mentioned above

--

--