Empathy and Innovation: My Journey Through Design Thinking

Harshitha Guthikonda
Design Thinking Spring
2 min readMay 7, 2024

In my design thinking class, we were challenged to put our learning into practice through a couple of engaging projects that were both enlightening and deeply personal. One such project involved using Miro boards to brainstorm solutions for real-life problems. This hands-on experience allowed me to understand the intricate details of user experiences, particularly the challenges faced by diverse groups. It was a revelation to see how mapping these experiences could drive effective solutions.

Another project focused on enhancing campus accessibility. Here, we applied user journey maps to identify and address specific barriers faced by students with disabilities. This wasn’t just an academic exercise; it felt personal and purposeful. It was about making my campus a more welcoming place for everyone, which resonated with me deeply. Each barrier we mapped and planned to dismantle reminded me of the real impact our work could have.

These projects didn’t just teach me design thinking skills; they transformed the way I see problems — inviting me to approach them with both empathy and ingenuity. This approach has seeped into my studies in tech management, where I now frequently think about how the principles of design thinking can be applied to technology projects to make them more inclusive and impactful.

Looking forward, I’m inspired to further explore how technology can remove barriers and create more inclusive environments. The projects from this class have not just been academic milestones; they’ve been personal growth experiences that have shaped how I view my role as a future tech leader. They’ve instilled in me a passion for thinking creatively and compassionately to engineer solutions that matter.

--

--