Reflection 4

Weichen Zhang
Design Thinking Spring
4 min readMay 3, 2024

Taking this course was a curious decision for me. As I was browsing through the list of courses, Design thinking caught my attention. I felt that this course would not only provide the opportunity to learn about design thinking, but would also open up a whole new perspective on problem solving.

Class Activity:

From the very first class, we wasted no time entering the world of design thinking, sticky notes and markers in hand, brainstorming potential research topics. I watched ideas bounce off the walls, each sticky note representing a possible avenue of exploration. This initial brainstorming set the stage for our team project, igniting a creative spark that would guide us throughout the semester. As the course progressed, I found myself expressing my ideas not only through words, but also through sketching. In classroom activities, sketching became a powerful tool for visualizing concepts and communicating complex ideas. Whether it was mapping a user journey or telling a story or a paper prototype, drawing became my creative language, enabling me to express ideas clearly and accurately.

A particularly memorable experience was our Lego event where we learned the importance of communication and narrative in design. As we constructed storylines out of Legos, I realized the impact of an engaging narrative in capturing the audience’s attention and conveying the essence of an idea. This hands-on exercise reinforced my understanding of the importance of effective communication in the design process, and it was one of the most impressive classes I took all semester.

Team Project:

In a series of events, our team project became the focal point of our efforts. At first, I was overwhelmed by the myriad of ideas rushing through my mind, and I had a hard time focusing our attention on a single issue. Should we ease students’ anxiety, provide employment services, or focus on their mental health? Each topic is important in its own right, but through the nuanced steps of design thinking, we were gradually able to refine the raw information we brainstormed or gathered through interviews narrow down to our specific research goals and questions. One of the first insights I gained from the process of conceptualizing and exploring solutions is that we need to avoid making assumptions about ourselves. If something comes from your own mind, or you can identify with it, it’s easy to see it as a “good idea”. While the first stage of the design thinking process is empathy, we should be careful not to confuse it with making ourselves (designers) the users. This is one of the most important lessons I learned in this course because I am used to seeing situations and ideas through my own personal lens. But often such scenarios do not satisfy the users.

The second takeaway is that I realized that it’s fine to share bad ideas because many bad ideas can help us become more creative during the brainstorming process, resulting in more creative and good ideas. Our group usually shares our ideas on a weekly basis and it can be quite difficult to work with people who have different opinions. Sharing a lot of different ideas and incorporating each team member’s favorite ideas helped us overcome any differences. Instead of compromising, we have effective conversations and ask each other why we prefer one option over another, which helps us create new ideas that recognize everyone’s preferred topic.

For our group project, we designed an app designed to help NYU graduate students gain work experience and mentoring. For the prototyping process, it was fun to experiment with different forms of testing and try to figure out the best way to test the application. After two rounds of iterations, we gained valuable feedback from our peers and mentors, refining our prototype to better meet the needs of our target audience. Looking back on this semester’s endeavor, I am deeply influenced by the way design thinking has shaped my approach to problem solving. From the initial ideation phase to the final prototype iteration, I have gained a rich understanding of the iterative nature of design and the importance of empathy.

I was a different person after this class with Prof. Kristine Mudd, and I think the principles of design thinking will influence my future career. Whether I’m working as a project manager or a product designer, I believe the skills and insights I gained from this course will be a competitive advantage and valuable asset in my career. The five stages of Design Thinking — Empathy, Define, Ideate, Prototype, and Testing — have been embodied in every lesson. It not only helps us design products or services, but it also helps us solve complex problems. In addition, I also learned software that I had never used before, whether it was miro or figma, which was novel to me. I believe that the group projects we presented this semester are my valuable experience, and in the future, I would like to continue to deepen my learning in product design.

--

--