Reflection on “Nighthawks” and its relevance to design thinking

Xiangning Li
Design Thinking Spring
2 min readMar 25, 2024

Last month, I had a pleasure of visiting the Art Institute of Chicago. It is a cultural institution established in 1878 and known for its diverse collection in different styles during centuries. And the museum now has become one of the world’s largest and oldest art museum. Among the artworks in the museum, “Nighthawks” by Edward Hopper caught my most attention. This is a masterpiece of American realist art and depict a scene in a downtown diner late at night.

The reason for me to choose this artwork is because it is emotionally rich and give me an immersive feeling. It stole my heart when I first saw it and draw me in this powerful picture, making me feel like I am right there in the diner with the characters. Another reason for me to choose the artwork is because its relevance to our design thinking class. Sometimes, a piece of artwork may not inspire you just about what you see on the surface, but about the emotions it stirs to audiences.

When I looked at “Nighthawks”, I was struck by how it shows loneliness in a big city. The way that Edward Hopper uses light and dark colors makes me feel sad and thoughtful. The use of light and shadow not only sets the mood but also guides my gaze. It seems like the artwork invites me to wonder the stories behind each figure. This feeling is similar to what we have learned in design thinking class, where we try to understand others’ feeling and needs to come up with good ideas.

As we have mentioned in the class, storytelling is a way for sellers to attract customers buying their products. The artwork reminds me of the power of visual communication and storytelling in both art and design. In the class, we talk about innovative solutions or designs should be come up by understanding customers’ needs and experiences. Designers must show empathy towards its target people and know the needs of them in order to design solutions that truly resonate with them.

--

--