Short Film

Jasper Liu
Design Thinking Spring
2 min readMar 25, 2024
from the short film “Letter to a Pig

I’m planning to work on my portfolio in the upcoming summer break. My portfolio consists mainly of short films I’ve made and graphic designs I’ve worked on. This time, I plan to add art-based short films to the mix.

I’m good with dialog narratives and love dramatic movies, and I wanted to use a lot of dialog to drive the plot in the new production. Many people think that too much dialog takes away from a film's artistry. I think it’s the most powerful medium for expressing emotions, leaving room for the audience’s imagination through a lot of metaphors and alluding to real-life issues.

This time, I plan to use only one actor to film the story of the two characters, and he will use monologues to tell the story between him and the other invisible lead actor. There will be many supporting characters in the movie, such as their friends, but most of the dialog will be done by the lead actor alone.

from the short film “Letter to aPig”

The entire story is narrated as a reminiscence, and most of the scenes described take place on campus. The present perspective is used to recall the past events of the student days. Due to the single actor, there will be a very large number of ascending shots in the picture, and there may be more shots of objects than characters.

Trying to bring artistry to a seemingly everyday story through a unique production method can even give the viewer room for critique.

--

--