What I learned in design thinking class

Chunyan Gu
Design Thinking Spring
2 min readMay 5, 2024

Time flies, in a flash, design thinking this course has come to an end.I have benefited a lot in these three months.
First of all, the format of this class allows me to participate in it better. Almost every class requires us to create a journey map or analyze a real case, which exercises my thinking and logic skills. Its full interactivity makes me more daring to express my ideas in an unfamiliar environment.
Secondly, the knowledge learned in this course is very practical. For example, I learned how to ask a good question in a survey. I should avoid “yes or no” questions and use open-ended questions to guide the respondent to give a more detailed overview. In my future career plans, I would like to try an internship in marketing (customer orientation), which involves researching customer behavior through questionnaires. What I have learned in the class will enable me to design questionnaires better and increase my efficiency.
In addition, our team’s research project on how to reduce the pressure of graduates will be a good guidance for me, who will also be graduating next year. I can start to plan my future career in advance, try all the stress-relieving methods mentioned in the project and find the most suitable one for me. Creating prototypes has also sparked my interest in page design, and I would like to try to learn some UI design in my future studies.
Last but not least, I am very grateful to my professor for her help. Her detailed feedback on each of my assignments or speeches has helped me to slowly figure out in practice the importance of interactivity with users when learning design thinking.
All in all, this is a very practical and interesting class, and this semester I gained knowledge and happiness at the same time.

--

--