The Beauty in Imperfections

Sreeraman M G
Design & Life
Published in
1 min readApr 30, 2013

As I look around the room I am sitting in, I notice that most of the products that fill it are mass produced. There are hundreds perhaps millions just like them sitting in other rooms across the world. Mass production has taken away the human touch from these products. For an ordinary person, symmetry, proportion, finish etc maybe some of the hallmarks of perfection and these goods just reek of them. Sickened by the soullessness of these products I have recently taken a liking towards hand crafted goods.

The tiny imperfections you see in these hand crafted goods are the signatures left by their human creators. They go onto show that they were painstakingly crafted by humans just like you and me and not mass produced in a factory floor. There is a beauty in these tiny imperfections, a beauty that is beyond the eyes that got tuned to seeing products manufactured by machines and I have slowly learned to celebrate that beauty.

--

--