How do you use Space in Creativity? — Carlos Gutierrez

AIGA Los Angeles
Design Toast
Published in
3 min readMay 28, 2018

Carlos has been the Creative Director at Chocolate Skateboards in Los Angeles for several years now. Chocolate Skateboards has always been renowned for their forward thinking & creativity from their skateboard graphics to clothing apparel, even in their skateboard movie making.

We where privileged to have the opportunity to review some of Carlos’s most recent work and to ask him some questions about how he uses & thinks about space in his creativity and design -

Do you utilize ‘negative space’ in your work and if so, how important is it in communicating your design? (within advert layouts — digital, product design etc)

Sure, I use it. I usually let the design happen organically and by that I mean the negative space usually lets me know what I need to do. Its a process that I use consistently when designing graphics to be used on skateboards, a skateboard deck gives you an amazing blank space to work with.

How important is spacing in typography in your design?

I’d say it’s very important aesthetically, especially with the overall layout of the designs that I create. It always looks nice to me when something is spaced in the way I perceive to be correct, but what I deem to be good spacing is going to be different to other peoples interpretation, which is the great things about design.

Check out more of Carlos’s work at Chocolate Skateboards

Article written by Luke Gledhill

Luke is a creative director from England, living in Los Angeles and loving the diverse creative energy here. Currently residing on the board of AIGA Los Angeles as the Communications director, he works across many industries & business’s, directing brand development through digital platforms & product design. Luke works with a variety of international clients as well as emerging brands through his own creative platform, Just Up The Road.

--

--

AIGA Los Angeles
Design Toast

Los Angeles Chapter of AIGA. Empowering the local creative community.