Fjord Faces: Gene Chambliss

Fjord
3 min readJun 13, 2018

--

The Fjordian talks office inclusivity, inspiration through music, and that book he’s definitely going to start writing soon, swear

Role: Program and Operations Director

Studio: Atlanta

Years at Fjord: 3.5 years

What exactly does your role entail?

Funny, about a year ago I asked my Mom what she thought I did. Her reply: “I don’t know, but you sure talk a lot.”

How did you end up in this role and what do you love about your career choice?

My original career plan was to become a broadcast journalist. On my very first day, my very first assignment was reporting on a fatal car accident. I delivered the assignment, but it was at that moment that I realized broadcast journalism maybe wasn’t what I wanted to do with the rest of my life. I can’t remember the news director’s name, but I should probably send him a “Thank You” note.

What’s been your favorite part of working at Fjord?

Without question, it’s the people.

Where do you find inspiration?

I could say the generic, “I find inspiration everywhere…,” but as of the last six months or so I’ve really found the most inspiration in music. I’m not sure what’s driving that, but there you go.

If you could have dinner with anyone, who would it be and why?

That’s an easy one. Paul Rand (because of his impact of the design world), Ruth Bader Ginsburg (because she is, of course, the notorious one) and Belcalis Almanzar (a.k.a. Cardi B… I’ll let you figure that out).

What’s the weirdest or funniest thing that’s happened to you on the job at Fjord?

The weirdest or funniest thing that’s happened to me at Fjord… Easily that would be that time when (BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP). And then (BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP). And then he picked up his laptop and walked out of the room.

What are your three favorite things to do on the weekend?

Love live music… of any kind.

Never been afraid to try a new restaurant… I’ll spare you the gratuitous food shot.

And driving fast cars… I should say, “legally driving fast cars.” I’ve spent more than a few weekends on a sport driving course.

What are your three office must-haves for a successful workday?

Diet Coke, a bit of humility and dash of humor.

If you didn’t have this job, what would you be doing?

Likely writing the book that my family has been pushing me to write for years… literally years.

What’s your hope for the future ?

Personally speaking, I should get moving on that book.

Why makes you proud to be part of Fjord’s LGBT+ community?

I have always had the privilege of working for companies that have been open and inclusive to members of the LGBT community. In fact, at one former employer, I was in a room of seven leads and six of them were openly gay or lesbian.

I mention that because recently one of my friends was physically attacked by a group of 15 people for being gay. While the event happened outside of a work environment, it did act as a reminder that inclusive communities, like the one here at Fjord, are not accessible to all.

We’re always looking for smart, talented and passionate people like Gene. Want to join the team? See all open positions and find out more about why it’s good to be a Fjordian here!

--

--