Fjord Faces: James O’Neill

Fjord
2 min readFeb 7, 2018

The Fjordian talks good colleagues, idea-sparking conversations and where tech and theology collide

Role: Service/Interaction Designer

Studio: Dublin

Years at Fjord: 1(and a bit)

What exactly does your role entail?

I sit between people who make technology and people who use technology and try to bridge the gap.

How did you end up in this role and what do you love about your career choice?

I wondered in off the street one day and they mistook me for an employee. I really have no idea what I’m doing.

What’s been your favorite part of working at Fjord?

I ❤️ my colleagues. Sometimes there are hard days and you needs some office banter to get you through.

Where do you find inspiration?

Talking to people and bouncing ideas off them I always find inspiring. I can’t tell you how many good ideas have come from a simple conversation. Even sometimes mishearing or misunderstanding something someone said can spark surprising and clever ideas.

If you could have dinner with anyone, who would it be and why?

Don Norman. What a man.

What’s the weirdest or funniest thing that’s happened to you on the job at Fjord?

Things don’t happen to me, I happen to things.

What are your three favorite things to do on the weekend?

Bake something delicious, eat that delicious thing (possibly with friends) and watch cartoons.

How does your role as Fjord affect your life outside of the office, and how do your hobbies and passions impact your job?

I’m studying for a master’s in applied theology outside of work. As a result, I tend to be interested in the softer side of technology. How do we design for love, joy, peace, patience etc.? I’m interested in where and how the two worlds overlap.

What are your three office must-haves for a successful workday?

Tea, snacks, banter.

What’s your hope for the future — either for design or something more personal?

I hope that InVision finally brings out a better version. Get it together, Clark.

We’re always looking for smart, talented and passionate people like James. Want to join the team? See all open positions and find out more about why it’s good to be a Fjordian here!

--

--