Dorothy’s Dilemmas

Aarti Jain
Design with code
Published in
2 min readAug 11, 2018

While week one opened a new realm of understanding for me I didn’t quite grasp the scope or the applications of what I was typing into my terminal until week two. The commands began to make more sense and memory got integrated with logic. This paved the way for the Wizard of Oz prototyping assignment for me. I was able to think of an interface and envision its future (or higher fidelity version) as well.

The assignment compelled us to scan our campus, recognise the inconvenient or the ineffective systems within and come up with creative solutions for the same. At every step of the process we stopped to challenge our own solutions until we reached a satisfactory one.

I think that making the video required us to walk through the experience of the problem area that we had identified, this helped us understand it much better and hence propose effective solutions.

Sometimes having a clear vision of what you want your project to realise into can make you blindside some critical aspects in the domain. I think that the feedback that we received during the exhibition burst that bubble and urged us into considering each and every aspect pertaining to our problem space; the validation that we received gave us the confidence to take our project further.

Learning python was excessively fascinating for me but I soon discovered a gap between (me) understanding what was being projected and doing it again myself a day or two later. I found that zoning out even for a few minutes in class resulted in my being left behind, all clueless. I hope that in the coming week I can bridge this gap and strengthen my abilities with respect to the programing language.

--

--