From Dreamy to Practical

Rashika Goyal
Design with code
Published in
2 min readAug 5, 2018

Logic- Coding requires Logic. This is what I have always heard about coding. My first step into coding however was quite different. For me, meaning of language Python changed as I progressed. Initially it was a calculator, then it became a program in which I could make lists and then came the phase where I could randomly pick objects from my list or pick a specific object from it. And then finally after playing with lists, Python was a program in which I could give a specific command using for, if and while loops to get specific results which essentially coding is. Hence, Coding is like giving instructions to the program to perform certain functions to define behaviour, pattern and intelligence of the product I am creating. Deeper the code, intelligent the product because wider is the input and hence interaction. Here is when logic comes to play. Idea is to make two ends meet through equals for code to happen.

Possibilities are endless. More and more I learn, more and more I can see the options of creating something interesting. Input, output provides space for optimum interaction with user. Interaction to be made interesting needs a certain strategy to wind the user in a narrative which gives a space for play.

For months, my favourite game has been Colossal Cave Adventure which is a text based game. Being a text based adventure game it does not provide any kind of visuals which makes it even more interesting for me. A lot of logic comes into picture while playing this game. It feels like coding with the difference that errors are less, instead of remembering commands; player needs to know possessions and needs logic. Now knowing that with python, I can build such a game sounds extremely interesting.

Prototyping for a project by method of Wizard of Oz gave me endless points to think on hence making us incorporate a lot of functions to add “Wow!” element to it. But not every “Wow” is needed. A lot of “Wows” make it “Oh! Ok but I don’t think that is needed.” and hence the focus is lost. But starting to code the prototype made us think critically on unnecessary functions and make it clear cut and straight which makes it appealing in the end. I feel designing without coding makes the product dreamy but not practical. Coding makes it practical!

Dreamy has good appeal but practicality has a greater grasp. Dreamy kindles your imagination but practicality brings a better approach.

--

--