Getting Good Feedback

jayanti dave
Design with code
Published in
2 min readAug 5, 2018

This week began with us exibiting our work to Masters students and HCD faculty, which I was very unwilling to do initially, simply because of the fear of consequences. The experience however turned out to be far more useful and fulfilling than I could imagine, giving us a good amount of validation and also feedback about how to improve our concept. Somehow while working on a concept it seems as though you have thought of everything, but on having an interaction like this we saw how much we missed and a number of important features that we have to relook at, for example the privacy portion of the interaction. It was very encouraging to know about the things we were doing right too, it erased the doubts I had about our concept. Another good part of the exhibition was listening to people describe your project so that you can understand it from a different perspective and also see if your intention is translating accurately.

The coding portion of the class has gotten more complex and unfortunately I sometimes feel as though I’m falling behind. I know it is up to me to catch up again and I will, but sometimes I can’t help but feel a bit hopeless in a steadily speeding class. I am working on it.

I really enjoyed the videos we watched, specially the clips from Monty Python. I have seen them before but if was interesting to see them in the context of a coding class. I also look forward to creating a conversation using coding and looking into the patterns we follow in speaking to do so. I think we are all so accustomed to talking all the time that we barely even notice these patterns, so we will have to really look hard to spot them. I am quite happy with the concept we are working on and hope to take it further and further as we go.

--

--