Reflection— Week 1

Janaki Syam
Design with code
Published in
2 min readJul 28, 2018

Choosing this class wasn’t a very difficult task for me. I knew I wanted to learn programming in order to apply it into the design that I am practicing. Though this was easy for me, I did feel like I had an expectation as to what I would be learning about due to the fact that I had previously done a programming class with Gaurav in first year. I had the expectation that I would be learning new languages which would help me advance my skill. I also expected to do a really interesting project that would help me learn the new language and also to see how we can practically apply this with our creative thinking.

Our class even though was really big, which was overwhelming, definitely exceeded my expectations. Not only were we introduced to the code but we also learned history, who came up with it, why we use it and we also tried to understand how programming is important for designers. I got a lot of questions I had answered. I also got to learn a lot from my peers and I can say that listening to my classmates really helped me think outside the box about the different questions that we got asked.

Everyone had a different view about why programming is necessary for designers but personally for me I feel that we can use programming to take some ideas we have further, we get to increase our skill as a designer and also we get to coordinate with others in order to come up with a good design.

Learning to code on terminal was really interesting. I did not know it was possible to code, rather didn’t know how to code in terminal. I was a good start to the class because it gave me a whole new look into how people used to program before. Also using programming to do simple things like make a new folder and to write files in the folder, also easy navigation- made it easy to understand how we can use programming to make simple designs with coding.

Python is a language that I am unfamiliar with but since I have done programming before I feel that I am able to pick up easily. Gaurav’s and Venkat’s methods of teaching really helped us pick up the language, though the number of the people in class is a little overwhelming. It was good because helping others and learning from people around is helped me pick up faster. The little problems we got a solve and also the videos help us understand why we are learning programming and also give us inspiration.

The discussion we had in class really helped us shape our idea for our assignment. When we get feedback, we are able to use it so shape our existing idea and also helps us think of things we couldn’t think of before.

I am really looking forward to the next session and being able to blend my knowledge in my assignments.

--

--