Reflection (Week 1)

Arsh Kumar
Design with code
Published in
1 min readJul 27, 2018

Day 1 and Day 2

Starting off this class with no prior experience in coding was a task in itself, exciting yet daunting. While at one hand I was excited to learn a new skill, at the same time i was nervous about whether the content would be simple enough for even me, someone who has never coded, to understand.

Starting learning the basic code using Cygwin was a completely new horizon for me and to my surprise, even at a basic level, I understood the workings of the code and its logic behind the commands. One of the reasons I wanted coding as one of my classes is because I aspire to become a UX/UI Designer in the future and coding can prove to be a quite useful tool to help me along the way, while I could maybe make do without coding I think its better to just have the skill. Seeing the path this course is taking I think would be extremely useful in terms of what I look to get in terms of the skill for basic coding.

If I had to summarize these two days I would say that the pace at which the course is moving is comfortable in terms of the content itself and even though we have probably just touched the surface of coding at its basic level which can be the basic commands or something simple like creating directories using code, I have grasped whatever I was taught.

--

--