Taking a backward step

Ayushi Shah
Design with code
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2018

After the two weeks of hectic submissions and rigorous coding, the class got a break from the daily ritual of coding & learning python to something that is more interesting like watching short videos from the brilliant sci-fi movies. I have watched Interstellar, a space odyssey and Her. ‘Her’ always reminds me of the book written by Ray Kurzweil on Singularity. It definitely delineates that AI can be a true reflection of a human being. Every time when I watch an intense movie with some amazing technologies, I keep on thinking about the same questions like:

  • Can ‘AI empower humans’

OR

  • Can technology replace humans?

The struggle is still on for coding. I always thought that I know Python’s functions and syntax , maybe my assumptions are true but that is certainly not enough. Knowing the basics is not working, we should definitely learn to apply these basics practically. We had a Metaclass on the next day were we have revised all our concepts. It is a tough challenge ahead for us. I could write basic conversational codes from my learning’s throughout the class but somehow the pattern coding is still bother’s me. I realized, it is my fault! I should have practiced it more and spend some time on it daily. After the class got over, I realized still there is a lot for me to learn and practice. I came back and spend 3 hours understanding all the functions again and tried applying it on the coding (*) patterns. Now, I can make simple star patterns after practicing it for more than 20 times.

I am really working hard to figure out things in python for writing a proper code for our chatbot. I am still struggling to figure out that, how can we make our conversations more human-like. Something like our chat-bot that is serving a purpose, it will have a very definite set of questions to answer. Moreover, our target audience won’t have enough time to interact with our chatbot. It is a task-specific interface.

We did map out a lot of scenarios; maybe we will try to establish them in our final assignment. Hoping for the best outputs in A3.

--

--

Ayushi Shah
Design with code

Pursuing Human Centered Design at Srishti school of Art, Design and Technology