two steps forward, one step back

Aarti Jain
Design with code
Published in
2 min readAug 18, 2018

A1 had us just dip our toes in the pool of our idea. However, the feedback session that followed had us swimming wild with ambitions and excitement. I feel that when the second assessment came around, our far-fetched ideas clashed with our limited coding knowledge/skills. We were met by several dead-ends and were forced to pick alternate paths by the end of which we were left with something that we did not have in mind as we started out- our project had reduced to something we hadn’t planned. We had to sacrifice various elements that we were originally thrilled about. This had us feeling slightly dejected and demotivated but eager to sharpen our skills and find our way out of this conundrum at the same time.

I thought it was rather nice to watch movie clips pertaining to our work in class specially since this unit meant an entirely new domain for me and at times the scope and applications of what I was learning in it eluded me. The clips made clearer the connection between the class room and the real (or at least the popular culture) world.

Everything that was taught to us through the course of the three weeks I’d nod my head to in understanding and try out excitedly. Marveling at all the new statements and functions that I was being taught and quite honestly, applauding myself for the learning that I was doing, branching out with respect to my courses and for broadening my horizon. However, the class had a reality check in store for me. The time that we had to solve exercises that had been demonstrated to us before I found myself panic stricken and unable to recall the simplest of commands. All of a sudden the constant reminders of the faculty to practice our learnings began to make a lot more sense.

--

--