untitled

Aarti Jain
Design with code
Published in
1 min readJul 29, 2018

The pseudo luddite in me prevented me from signing up for any courses (so far, at Srishti) that would primarily involve technology. However, I recently realised that my peers had an understanding and approach that I lacked due to my obstinance in this matter; that the world was growing hand in hand with technology and I wasn’t keeping up. This led me to pick courses that would help me develop an understanding in this domain, help me garner an entirely new skill set and make available another paradigm for the artist and designer in me. And thats how I ended up in ‘Programming as a design tool for prototyping’.

While I have been the person raising my hand in order to ask the most frivolous of questions in class, it has certainly been most interesting for me- to learn about the history of programming, study the exemplary works in the field, and realising the role it plays in the objects that surround me in my quotidian. Being low-key technologically challenged has proven to provide all the more room for the class to blow my mind.

I was certainly afraid of being a mis-fit for the course and was sure that I’d be lagging behind. However, so far, the class has unquestionably kept me on my toes. Paul Graham’s essay on hackers and painters put my mind at ease. The parallels that he drew between the two lessened my fears, I find myself feeling less intimidated and more excited. Eager to see how the next four weeks unfold.

--

--