Is it all the “white, straight dude’s” fault?

Pxlgirl
designbypxlgirl
Published in
4 min readMay 2, 2017

Someone posted a meme on Linkedin the other day, saying that having a team of “straight white males” in a creative team is a disgrace. It was accompanied by a headline on how it’s not enough to say that “It doesn’t matter who does the creative, as long as they’re good.” The following article then goes on about the fact that the creative industry lacks female leaders trying to push the usual narrative of valuing people based on gender and [insert minority here]. I have included my comment on the article below, but first, lets have a little reality check, shall we?

There are few female leaders

Yes, it’s true. But not for the reasons most might think, much less some feminists want us to believe. Holding a position of power/leadership requires certain personality type and a whole range of skills. Not only that, but it also requires availability and constant presence. In order to do that, there are a lot of sacrifices to be made, and each person must carefully consider this. It’s no accident that the divorce rates among managers are extremely high, compared to the rest, so career path is not for everyone, regardless of gender. With that being said, many end up burned out over the years and have no choice but to change their path once they recover. Women are often very unaware or ignorant of these downsides, as they are brainwashed to believe that they can “have it all”. The reality is much harsher than they think, which is why they too end up burned out, depressed and broken. The women (and men) who actually managed to succeed deserve my full respect, assuming they are decent human beings and don’t abuse their power. Despite of all this, a lot of women refuse to put themselves in a leadership position because it either doesn’t interest them, or they have enough self-awareness to evaluate their strengths and weaknesses. So, sorry to burst your little bubble here, but it’s not men or society stopping them.

The world is a scary place

Tough shit, I know. Yet it seems that if some women don’t achieve their goal or drop out, their initial reaction is to blame [insert scapegoat here]. They have a hard time accepting that sometimes things don’t always work out the way they want, or that their career choice maybe was a mistake. Life on its own is tough already, and it’s even tougher when you’re a leader. If you don’t have the skills to get this job done, this is not for you. Yet, feminists and other inclusion/diversity activists try to forcibly push women and other minority groups into certain (male dominated) fields, regardless if they are actually suitable for it or not.

Before pointing fingers at others, clean your own backyard first…

… and most importantly, get the hell out of your politically poisoned utopian bubble and see how your agenda is doing the exact opposite of what was intended. Which brings me right into my comment I mentioned above:

I have a disability, I’m a non-straight female immigrant, all that makes me on top of the “oppression” ladder according to those people (most white, able bodied and well off btw) who claim to represent me and my rights, by blaming white straight dudes for everything that goes wrong in my world. Well, guess what? I don’t want nor need anyone to speak for me, I can do that myself, thank you very much!

I am not the victim that you would like to want me to be. I actually achieved something that most deemed impossible. Despite, or maybe even because of my visual impairment, I became a designer. You heard me. And no, I was not a charity case, I could draw better than people who graduated from my college and I was already good at it at an age while y’all were still crapping in your diapers. I worked hard for my career and I am proud of it. Not because of the fact that I am almost blind, but because my work is good and that’s what I want to be judged for. But thanks to some misguided activists, I have to deal with constantly being reduced to the very thing that neither defines me nor my work. I value others for what they do, not for who they are.

Article published on http://www.designbypxlgirl.com/insights/is-it-all-the-white-straight-dudes-fault/

--

--