Fool for Five Minutes or Forever. Your Choice.

Borrys Hasian
Design Chit-Chat
Published in
1 min readDec 18, 2014

You’ve got nothing to lose by asking questions.

The good thing about posting my design to dribbble or code to codepen is that it’s exposed to other people so I could get some feedback or critics. When people are giving me feedback or critics, I realize that I’ve got so much to learn. Whenever I wanna ask some questions to other people, I sometimes have a thought that people would think I’m a fool for asking such a simple question.

“He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.” -Chinese Proverb

When I posted Button to Modal Transition to codepen, I got some feedback, and I was lucky to have an awesome front-end team in Viki who has a good culture of sharing and learning. I asked a lot of questions (e.g ‘What does &:before mean?’), and it even made them happier to share their thought and experience. I knew something new that I didn’t know five minutes ago. Asking questions is good because it means I’m willing to learn and improve. It means I’m growing. No one cares if I didn’t know what &:before in CSS means five minutes ago. So I’ve got nothing to lose by asking questions.

Originally published at inspiringux.com on December 17, 2014.

--

--

Borrys Hasian
Design Chit-Chat

I'm a Product Designer, fascinated about Design Innovation, and I have led Design for successful and award-winning products used by millions of people.