Redefining the Classroom: Framing School Planning as a Design Challenge

janzeteachesit
Designed Classroom
Published in
2 min readJul 2, 2016

tl;dr: In which a promise is made, 53 articles proposed, the purpose explained, and some conventions presented.

Guiding Question

What would it look like if I used the principles & frameworks that I espouse as I plan for and teach classes in the 2016–2017 school year?

Purpose

… of the whole, grand experiment is to publish, every Saturday from today, July 2nd, 2016, until Saturday, July 1st, 2017, what I do as I plan for and teach the upcoming school year.

Week 0

Welcome to the inaugural post. At this point, I am defining the scope and outcomes of this project. Teaching a school year is a complex, multi-phase project. Over the next fifty-three weeks I plan to use Design Thinking, Agile and Lean methodologies, the Flipped Classroom and Constructivism paradigms and Project-Based Learning as I design, iterate and execute what and how I teach classes during the 2016–2017 school year. I should acquire enough data and experience, that, at its end, I will be able reflect on whether I have “walked the walk” or, to paraphrase George Bernard Shaw, not done, only taught.

Conventions

  • tl;dr = “Too Long; Didn't Read”; I am implementing the Stack Exchange definition, “Here, in a nutshell, is what I mean to say”. Read more on Wikiwand (the Simple English version of Wikipedia)
  • Guiding Question = “the fundamental query that directs the search for understanding” - evergreen.edu. It is open-ended and succinct, with emotive force and intellectual bite, and requires high-level cognitive work to answer. In my case it stems from and results in a real-world project that is important and relevant to me. Read more in the Alfie Kohn article on the role of questions in education, because, well, it’s Alfie Kohn. ‘Nuff said.
  • Retrospective = one of what will be many nods to the Agile Development process. An opportunity for self-inspection and planning for improvement, it is a qualitative review of the activities completed and the group-members, relationships, process, and tools involved in getting to completion. More at the Scrum Guide and Retro-Mat.
  • Code = see below. More at Javascript Tutorial
/*  sometimes what I am trying to say makes more sense (at least to me) when written as a block of code as Code includes but does not always follow the conventions of prose. */function writeAsCode(gibberish){
return gibberish + MAGIC; // 'cuz code === MAGIC
}
var blockOfText;
if (blockOfText !== clearSuccintAndMeaningful) {
writeAsCode(blockOfText);
}
else
console.log(blockOfText);

Retrospective

(Group-members, Relationships, Process, and Tools)

Keep
T: tl;dr because I think it is novel/geeky (I guess we will have to see if that bears out)

Drop
P: trying to write everything on Friday

Add/Change
P: more Diary/Journal
T: photos
G: writing that influences this project
T: backlog
T: user profiles for my courses

Commit
P: transcribe my notes each day this week

Next Step

The Discovery phase.

--

--