A different take on personal change

Andrea Mignolo challenges common attitudes to change

Jason Mesut
Designed Transitions
2 min readDec 3, 2022

--

Andrea Mignolo is one of my favourite writers, coaches and collaborators. She’s also been an incredible support to me personally and professionally over the years.

She’s been a designer, grown and led teams as a head of product and design, sought an MBA, and become the most wonderful coach. Ever becoming even. Her writing and talks over the last few years have been incredibly powerful to me, the people I coach and so many of my peers.

Her latest post from last week resonated so hard with the theme of transitions, and with my own journey as I connect with who I really am. I had to reference it here for you.

A link to Andrea’s article with an image of two different surfaces coming together
Check out her post

It’s a deeper read. Not because of the length. More because of how it might butt up against what you’ve been told before. It might counter the typical received wisdom around change.

If it doesn’t resonate now, I’m sure it will in the future. Like with so much of Andrea’s work you may find yourself coming back to it again and again.

This is Andrea’s ‘Building your relationship with change

Check out more from Andrea

I’d also highly recommend Andrea’s writing on feedback. These are some of my most often used references with my coachees. Especially as many problems often centre around a relationship wit someone else where the otehr person’s behaviours are having an effect on them.

Very practical but they provide a different perspective on creating the right space for giving feedback and the art of receiving feedback.

If you’re ready to go deeper…

And if you want to go even deeper on change, this is one of my favourite talks ever. I cried when I first experienced it at Leading Design at the start of my own breakdown, and I cry every time I’ve watched it.

Andrea Mignolo’s ‘Eat Only Elk’ talk — so so good

Multi layered. Deep. Important. As always with Andrea.

Don’t forget to read her most recent post here:
https://medium.com/method-matter/building-a-relationship-with-change-3602cf6e7890

--

--

Jason Mesut
Designed Transitions

I help people and organizations navigate their uncertain futures. Through coaching, futures, design and innovation consulting.