Designers🎤alk #39 with Arpita Dhir ( Product Designer + Consultant, Graphic Designer @ Freelance | Ex-Headout)| PHASE 3 [IND Edition]

Date: 11 July April 2021

Akash Upadhyay (Product Designer 2 at o9Solutions)
DesignersTalk
6 min readJul 11, 2021

--

Arpita is working as a Product Design Consultant. Also, she previously worked for Headout. In this talk, she has shared her opinions regarding:⁣

1️⃣ role of a Mentor;

2️⃣ things to take care of before sitting for an interview;

3️⃣ collaboration as a skill & etc;

Q1. Hi Arpita, nice to meet you. Let’s start with a short background story. How did you get started in design?

During my first year of engineering, I joined a student chapter at VIT university called IEEE. As a part of the chapter we were asked to build certain technical skills and I chose designing.

I started with graphic design and by my second year, I had started helping the student chapter IEEE with collateral for various events. Soon I saw myself assisting a senior design with freelance projects and a hobby turned into my passion.

I proactively went to hackathons, got my own clients. One thing led to another and I saw this as something I’d enjoy doing. After a couple of years as a graphic designer, I figured that my passion is to design to solve solutions and help people and that’s another story of how I started upon UX design after graphic design.

Q2: What is the role of a mentor especially for someone who’s starting their design journey? How to choose the perfect Design Mentor for the UI/UX Design Career?

When I started I had no mentor as such, but trust me I really wanted one.

After 6 years, I realized if a person really wants to learn they don’t need the “perfect” mentor but rather the “perfect” mindset to keep learning.

A mentor’s role is to guide and it can exist anywhere, it can be your friend or teammate or even a random person you met yesterday. When we find the perfect mentor, our learning process just accelerates.

Q3: What’re the qualities you look for if you want to hire one designer in the pool of N no of designers?

For the field of product design, I look for a few things in the candidate

  • Are they asking the right questions?
  • How empathetic are they towards users?
  • How strong is the reasoning?
  • Do they have an open mind and are open to feedback?
  • Problem-solving perspective or approach
  • Last but not the least, how genuine and feasible is the process and solution?

Q4: What challenges did you face while shifting from the engineering to the designing field? How to switch to UI/UX design or product design from a different discipline?

The challenge was more personal, a mental block. I felt I lacked some technical knowledge or certifications to switch from engineering to graphic design. Even if I freelanced in college I never felt I can ever get a full-time job in design. I was prepared to first do a master’s in design and then get placed hopefully. Getting this out of my head was my biggest challenge.

Once I overcame this thought for graphic design, I found a full-time role with Happy Mcgarry Bowen, Krafting Networks and then, Ola till the end of 2020.

Now I was making the switch to UX/UI from graphic design, I faced the same mental block — I learned that certifications don’t make a difference but what if I don’t know everything — the technical know-how. This time while I was working I simultaneously did a 3-month weekend course on UX/UI. The course didn’t teach me everything, as UX is such a vast field and I was prepared to learn every day, but it confirmed that I have everything I need to start.

If you want to switch to UX/UI or product design:

  • Design can be self-taught, so take some time out to first learn. There are various publications and youtube channels that help you learn for free.
  • If you don’t feel confident you have options of short-term and long-term courses.
  • Compile your relevant work in a portfolio.
  • Make sure you get multiple reviews of your portfolio, you will only learn.
  • you can refer to Q3 and Q5 to understand what can help you stand out in my opinion.

Q5: What’re things one can take care of or prepare before sitting for a UI/UX or product designer interview?

  1. Have a portfolio.
  2. Be original and genuine.
  3. Put thought and reasoning into your work.
  4. Make logical and functional designs.
  5. Always look for feedback.
  6. Don’t Overthink!

Q6: How do you work with engineers/Product Managers/other designers?

I have a few things when I follow when I work with engineers, product managers, or designers:

  1. Keep them in the loop from an early stage of ideation
  2. Create proper documentation with a relevant nomenclature
  3. Understand each other's dependencies and prioritise problems together
  4. Get reviews as often as possible from the design team. The milestones can be a multi-team review.

Q7: How mentoring designers help you grow as one?

  • The best part about UX design is that it’s so dynamic, ever-changing and we have to unlearn every day to learn more.
  • When I mentor, it’s not about teaching them, it’s more about learning more myself.
  • When I see their attempts and the process they chose, I learn a great deal as everyone has a unique way of problem-solving.
  • Each human has a different perspective and being a mentor helps me find new perspectives regularly. And perspectives help me become a better designer.

Q8: Designers Talk: Wrap Up round(One word or Choice-based)

  1. Design in one word: Logic
  2. A product that inspires you: Apple
  3. Favorite design blog/publication: Toptal Design
  4. Favorite gadget: Macbook Pro
  5. Dribbble or Behance: Behance
  6. Linkedin/Twitter/Instagram: Linkedin
  7. DesignersTalk in one word: Self-Introspection
  8. Favorite Design Series/Video/Movie: Abstract. Nah! Haven’t followed any as such
  9. First Choice(Website/App): Depends on what I need. I have both handy at all times!
  10. Favorite Design System: Atlassian (Keeps changing)
  11. Android or iOS: iOS
  12. XD/Figma/Sketch/Invision Studio: Figma
  13. Go-To Tool for you as a designer: Figma & Adobe Illustrator
  14. Taking Design Inspiration from Pinterest for life
  15. Design Hero: Too early

Thank you 🙏 Arpita💚⁣⁣⁣ for giving your precious time
Linkedin
Instagram
Adplist

The motto for this DesignersTalk is to “Bridge the gap between Experienced Designers and New Designers”.

Why text-based? Because it’s precise, to-the-point opinions and it also gives freedom to those designers who want to share but not comfortable in front of the camera and who don’t want to give their too much time but still wanted to contribute.

If you like it, please follow this publication and share it with the design community and help them to learn from the experience of the great designers without investing your and their tooooo much time…

Akash ✍️💚

Thank you for reading till the end!

Did you know? You can hold that clap button for a few seconds to give a maximum of 50 Claps. :)

I would really appreciate it you do.

--

--

Akash Upadhyay (Product Designer 2 at o9Solutions)
DesignersTalk

Hey hi, thank you for coming to my profile :) Expertise to share knowledge on: B2B, AI, Accessibility, Design System