Alicja Colon: Photographer

Design Inc.
Design Inc.
Published in
7 min readJan 19, 2017

--

Design Inc. Department of Talent Spotlight

Alicja is without a doubt a phenomenal creative and is one of the talented photographers you can find on Design Inc.. With a seasoned past and BFA in graphic design, she has built a diverse photography business and portfolio ranging from editorial, to product, to brand photography.

For those who might not know you, give us an idea of what you do.

There’s a trifecta in my weekly routine: Product and Editorial photography, then photography styles.

First, I work alongside designers and agencies to craft exploratory photos of brands and products. It could be still lifes, stop motion, composites — whatever would both grab the viewer’s attention, but also remain both in brand from a messaging and aesthetic perspective.

Created with Braizen

My most recent passion is in what I call “editorial photography” but not in the classic sense of understanding which would be photojournalism. Instead I define it as a still-life image that is meant to tell a specific story or communicate a clear message that’s attached to an article.

Lastly, while collaborating with a brand strategist and designer, I create brand photography styles. This is where my design plays a big influence. I help prescribe the primary, secondary, and headshot styles. This includes emotive and subject direction and concrete directions on lighting, camera settings, and post-processing. The goal is to make the imagery own-able but scalable.

The goal is to make the imagery own-able but scalable.

You are self-taught working in your father’s vinyl sign shop tweaking logos. Was your path into photography similar? Give us a bit of the history on how and why you made that transition.

Ah, man you guys did your homework! Yup, I’m self taught photographer. Tweaking those logos lead me to get my degree in graphic design. While I was a brand/print designer it became really apparent that crafting the photo I needed would be easier than finding and manipulating the hell out of it in Photoshop. I picked up the camera and 9 years later haven’t put it down.

When my husband’s new job moved us out of state to Miami, I decided to go “all-in.” With no clients and ample time I was focused on reading and practicing everything from basic camera controls, lights, composition, you name it.

What are the biggest differences between design and photography that you’ve experienced?

I’m gonna tweak this question and answer about the biggest differences between designers and photographers…

Though I think some would argue with me, I believe a strong designer can create in a range of different styles. Sure, some designers are known for a typical look, but the ones I truly admire can digest a brand strategy and create within it’s unique perimeters. Photographers are quite the opposite.

Photographers are generally known for one style. They shoot that one style really well. It may evolve, sure, but generally there’s not a mix of processing, moods, etc within their portfolio. I recently had dinner with a photographer I admire and he was showing me images from a recent national campaign he did. As he was scrolling through the images he lamented that the agency prescribed the amount and color he was to add to the shadows and highlights. Where he couldn’t wrap his head around it, it made perfect sense to me — brand photography styles.

The subject matter of your work is pretty diverse, yet you have maintained a consistent aesthetic. Can you dive into your approach in capturing your visual style?

Really it’s a consistent aesthetic? That’s cool to hear, and quite different than how I perceive my work. I appreciate the compliment. But I guess you’re right — there’s a few underlying things I do in each shoot cause I generally like them. One is controlled lighting. I’m not a natural light photographer. I like to be able to control the hell out of my light — what color, shape, strength, direction. I also generally adore shallow to mid depths of field. No matter what, I’ll stick to those realms.

What’s your advice to young photographers that are trying to find their photographic voice or niche?

Try everything and trust the journey. I started taking images of family and children. Which lead to weddings. Which lead to me really loving the styling and details of each wedding. This took me down a path of styling and product photography — all the while my design sensibilities guided each shoot. I absolutely love where I am today.

What are some of your favorite books/resources on photography that have really helped you along the way?

Photographer, Zach Arias, has a great dvd called OneLight, (sadly, it’s currently discontinued) which taught about how to use, well, One Light source. I also read everything David Hobby, better known as The Strobist, wrote about lighting. Then I practiced, practiced, and practiced again. Also, ask if you can hold the light for a photographer you admire. Getting to see how they shoot first hand will teach you more than you realize.

As a freelancer do you still take on personal side projects? What’s the value of side projects for creative folks?

For sure! I couldn’t imagine not doing them. I do them for one of two reasons: 1) to continually challenge myself creatively. Sometimes I’ll go a week or two without picking up a camera and I’ll get timid for the next shoot. It’s odd, but in 9 years this still happens. So having a personal project where I push myself to create daily, or as much as possible, stives off that constant timidity. 2) to expand my craft or understanding. A personal project doesn’t have to be in the industry of which you work. One of mine is write studies or articles about my faith.

Do you ever have periods where you feel a little bit disconnected from your work, or where you burn out? How do you deal with those?

I do! Oh, man, I do. My number emotion I battle is insecurity. I catch myself questioning, Is this going to the project that I fail miserably at? I generally don’t get bored with what I’m doing, because I ensure that I’m challenging myself creatively, but insecurity, that’s my thorn in my side.

So how do I deal with it? Hmmmm — this is super personal, to be honest, but I have to remind myself that my performance isn’t linked to my self-worth. That failure is a step in the right direction, and quitting is true failure (though we all know there are sometimes exceptions to that rule). And if the scope needs to evolve, people are generally understanding as long as I’m honest and transparent. So … in a nutshell … loads of positive self-talk, transparency, and commitment.

What’s a major aspect of what you do that you don’t think most people know?

For product shoots always style the props. In others circles photographers hire that area out, but I adore the attention to detail. For larger lifestyle projects I have a team that helps acquire locations, models, props, but I’m involved to ensure the style is consistent throughout the shoot.

Overall, why do you do what you do, and why do you love it?

I never get bored. Since I work with agencies and creative teams, the types of projects I work on are immensely varied. Challenges to solve, new perspectives to gain, and clear messages to create all keep me excited and engaged in photography.

You can follow and see more of Alicja’s work all over the internet, she goes by the handle @Alicja Colon :

On Design Inc.
On Dribbble
On Instagram
On Twitter

If you want to keep in touch with Design Inc. you can follow us on Twitter and Instagram or subscribe to our newsletter here. We also do a weekly YouTube show where we interview awesome folks and chat about design, startups and the business of creativity.

If you enjoyed this post please tap or click “♥︎”.

--

--

Design Inc.
Design Inc.

We help established companies and startups design and build beautiful products that are simple and easy to use