What I Learned after reviewing 1,000+ Design Portfolios

Joel Beukelman
Design Inc.
Published in
4 min readOct 20, 2016

Last month we launched Design Inc., and one of our main focuses has been reviewing portfolios and inviting designers to the platform. Over 1,000 portfolio reviews later I have noticed a few trends I’d like to share, some good and some bad

I have always heard from managers & peers that you can identify the type and/or quality of most designers almost immediately from their portfolio. I have always been skeptical about that statement, but now understand where they are coming from.

This is no way an exhaustive list, but here are the main trends I observed (and what I think it communicates to employers or clients)

1. The “Here is my work” portfolio

For designers that are independent or seeking inquiries or job offers, I think leading with work is always the best. Most portfolio sites (Dribbble, Behance, etc) follow this format, but adding your own brand and context is huge. As a reviewer, this format of the portfolios below delighted me, and helped me efficiently evaluate their body of work.

Pros

– Super easy to quickly review a large breath of work

– No need to click around and find work

– Great format for visual & brand/logo work

Cons

– Format hides process and depth of project (specifically UX/Product design)

– Can feel noisy and highlight inconsistency across projects

2. The “I have a Job” portfolio

Being completely transparent, this is the bucket my personal portfolio falls under. I found most designers following this format are typically working full-time for a company. I had to dig around a little for these types of portfolios, but overall, I could still evaluate the designers approach, skill set, and portfolio (if linked)

Pros

– Quick way to show resume and accolades

– Promotes the individual, not just the design

– Personal brand is focus, over design work

Cons:

– Requires user/reviewer to dig for portfolio

– Can be be polarizing (judging personal brand over design work)

3. The “Don’t pay attention to me” portfolio

I was simply flabbergasted when I discovered how many “portfolios” I came across that had one of the following:

  1. A password required
  2. A 404 page or broken URL
  3. A company site
  4. “Coming Soon” landing page

I understand that portfolios are fluid and not always available for the public, but if you are sharing URL’s of your designs…be sure they work. When I see broken portfolios, I get bummed out because I know the designers are missing out on potential work and opportunities.

Pros:

– Work great (password protected) for confidential work…given you can provide the password

Cons:

– Usually feels broken

Final Thoughts

Obviously there is a spectrum of portfolios out there, but regardless of how you decide to feature work, here are some practical tips if you are looking to get hired and or approved for Design Inc. 😝

  1. MORE THAN ANYTHING: Real work and hustle means a lot. Side projects or anything in the real world (URL or AppStore) is 10x more important then hypothetical pixels.
  2. The best designers solve problems, not just make things pretty. We all know this, but the hard part is exhibiting this in a portfolio. Be it a logo or Mobile app, a concise summary of the context with a run through of the process and a sprinkle of the final beautiful pixels is the perfect combo for me.
  3. Only show your best work (one bad piece can be a deal breaker). I would much rather see 3 great projects, rather then 5 (3 great and 2 marginal projects)
  4. Portfolio sites are great for community and showing work, but fail to communicate personal brand. I love seeing a designers Dribbble/Behance profile, but only after they have grabbed my attention from a personal site/portfolio.
  5. Don’t make me download anything. There is nothing more annoying for a recruiter or design manager then clicking a link, only to have to search for a PDF.

--

--

Joel Beukelman
Design Inc.

Designer on Chrome @Google. Former designer on @DesignInc, Android & @Netflix. Design tutorials & Vlogs: youtube.com/bklmn