Promotional Poster (Designing A.I.)

David Young
Designing A.I. - Spring 2017
1 min readDec 1, 2016

For more information see The New School course catalog description: https://courses.newschool.edu/courses/PSDS5330

Artificial Intelligence (A.I.) technologies are on the verge of going mainstream; but how they will ultimately manifest is an open question.

This studio will examine current and near-term A.I. from the perspective of an underserved, alternative, or creative community. Taking that community as a partner, students will explore how A.I. could be applied in service to the aspirations of that group.

In this course you will:

  • Survey the current landscape of A.I. technologies and the surrounding questions of social bias.
  • Develop new ways for non-technical stakeholders to benefit from, and contribute to, emerging technologies.
  • Design projects that prototype new A.I. applications or tools, exploring alternatives to code-based demos.

It is through this work that we can ask how our understanding of the technology, and its future development, may change.

Spring 2017; Wednesdays 3:50–6:30pm
Transdisciplinary Design PSDS 5330; 3 Credits
David Young. Questions? <email>
Graduate course, open to undergrads by permission

--

--