New on the Design Team

Los Montoya
Designing Atlassian

--

The home stretch. My first day was right around the corner and all Atlassian had to do was make sure everything was in place for my first day.

As we know, the first day is one of the most important steps in the new-hire process because it will increase momentum gained during the interview process or kill it. Nobody wants to spend the first day of their exciting new job sitting at an empty desk, twiddling their thumbs.

Hiring Momentum

Atlassian understood the importance of creating and maintaining the hiring momentum. Within 15 working days, Atlassian offered me a position. It felt like they cared. Not once did I feel like they were hiring for another cog on the wheel. I wasn’t even an employee yet and I already felt a sense of purpose.

The First Few Days

I received an email a couple of days before my start date. In that email was a plan. In that plan was a schedule for my first week. I could tell that the team had spent many hours putting together a comprehensive schedule for my first week. They cared. They wanted me to have an awesome first few days and help prepare me with the tools to manage the inevitable flood of information about to consume my focus. Following is a small sample of my first couple of days.

Day 1: Go through orientation and on-boarding. Get lunch with a few team members. Get tech and company swag ☺. Review 90-day plan and checklist. Check-in with manager.

Day 2 and Day 3: Start meeting more team members and start to complete items off the checklist. Get a high level explanation of some of the current projects. Publish an intro blog post for all to read.

Day 4: Enjoy an off-site with the entire design team on Alcatraz!

Day 5: Settle in and ask questions. A lot of them. Get responses and encouragement from everyone I reached out to.

Closing Remarks

I am now rounding out week 2 and could not be more impressed with the talent and kindness surrounding me. I joined Atlassian because I want design to permeate from the very essence of what Atlassian is becoming. Design is not just illustration or the way we simplify potentially complex digital interactions, design is a way of looking at and influencing the world. I want to help influence what we do at Atlassian and know that I joined the right team to make that a reality.

Want To Write For Atlassian?

I have had an amazing first few days at Atlassian and I am excited for the opportunities ahead. If you are reading this, then you are someone we want to work with. Reach Out

If you enjoyed this post and want more of the same, you might consider following Designing Atlassian!

--

--

Los Montoya
Designing Atlassian

I design Mappen and provide Creative Direction at Juxta Labs. Previously @atlassian @pinger @travandlos