Shuhari: design mastery

MC Dean
Designing Atlassian
3 min readMay 26, 2015

Becoming a master of anything involves a learning curve. As a novice, knowing where you are on that curve helps you push forwards in a rewarding way.

Design is a broad discipline when considered holistically, and to gain mastery of it in even one area requires dedication and a few good teachers.

Aikido gave us Shuhari: a system to bring you from novice to master.

I first learned about this some years ago in a meeting, where I was asking way too many questions for someone fresh on the team. The lead engineer eventually turned my way and said “Shu”.

Me: “Did you just shush me?”

Him: “No I said “Shu”. ShuHaRi”.

Me: “What does it mean?”

Him: “It means shut up and listen”

I did read up on it, and he was right. In this particular situation I was in Shu. I didn’t know enough of the context yet to begin asking my questions.

Sumi-e Shuhari (Davide ‘Folletto’ Casali)

Shu: to protect, keep or maintain

This early stage is all about building a strong technical foundation. It’s about repetition and building muscle memory. The student follows the teachings of a single master and focuses on how to do the tasks, without worrying overly about the underlying theory. If there are many ways to so something, the student only concentrates on the way the master is teaching it. At this stage, it is up to the master when the student moves to “Ha” and it’s up to the student to empty their cup and be a sponge.

Ha: to detach

At this stage the student begins to break free of the master and explores other ways of doing things (to some extent). They reflect on the meaning of everything and question it all. With a strong foundation, they can learn the underlying principles and theory behind the techniques. The student will also start to learn from other masters, and develop their own understanding of the practice.

Ri: go beyond, transcend

The student becomes a practitioner at this stage, and is learning from their experiences rather than only from others. S/he creates approaches and methods of their own and adapt what they’ve learned to their own particular circumstances.

In all my meetings and workshops, I ask myself what stage I’m in, and let it guide my behaviour. As a manager, I use it with my team to help designers guide their own behaviour and accelerate their learning. It also gives us a language when discussing growth together.

I always regret not spending enough time in Shu, those dues always need to be paid sooner or later. Ha is a time of confusion and excitement for me, and Ri is too often taken for granted as I forget the journey I’ve been on☺.

--

--

MC Dean
Designing Atlassian

Head of Product @The Mintable | Designer | Maker | Meditator