A “Miscut” Apple

RUNYU
DesignThinkingfall
Published in
2 min readSep 6, 2021

One day my niece walked up to report to me about the kindergarten, saying that she had learned new things again and wanted to show it to me. She opened the drawer and took out a knife that he shouldn’t use. I took an apple out of the refrigerator and said, “Aunty, I want you to see what’s hidden inside.” I said I know what’s inside the apple, but she insisted on cutting it to me. She cut the apple in half. In my opinion, it is “wrong cut”. We all know that the correct cutting method should be to cut from the stem to the bottom fossa. As for her, she lay the apple horizontally and cut it down. Then, she stretched out the cut apple in front of me: “Auntie, look, there is a star in it.” I saw, really, from the cross section, the apple core really showed a clear five-pointed star shape.

I have eaten countless apples, always cut them in half according to the correct cutting method, but I have never suspected that there is any hidden pattern I haven’t discovered yet! So, on that day, my niece brought this news home and completely changed the stubborn me. No matter who it is, cutting the “wrong” apple for the first time was mostly due to curiosity or negligence.

What touched me deeply is that this hidden pattern has such a huge charm. Maybe this method was first passed to my niece’s kindergarten from unknown place, and then passed to me. Yes, if you want to know what creativity is, to put it down to the point, it’s an apple — a “wrong” apple.

--

--