Blog 2: New York MoMA Experience

Edward Wang
DesignThinkingfall
Published in
2 min readOct 23, 2021

In recent days, I had a chance to visit the New York Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), and saw many amazing pieces of paintings and other visual forms of artwork. I specifically selected this museum for this reflection because I feel that design thinking comes from the modern world and that the works of art should embrace diverse perspectives. I think the reason why “modern art” is shown in the caption is that many artworks I saw are reaching the audience about modern values — most important ones include creativity, openness and generosity. Indeed, this museum is intended to become a diverse and inclusive place where artists can unleash their full potential of creativity and not worry about certain thinking frameworks. Although the artworks presented here are mainly shown to the visitors who want to have an artistic experience, I still believe that the design methodologies are somehow related to this class. For each one of the artwork presented in the museum, the artist of that artwork needs to think in detail about the final product. Of course, art design is complex and requires people to have talents and experiences in delivering their products to the audience. In this case, the artists will need to research with the ideas that they want to communicate and use this research as a base to make that prototype. After this step is done, the artist will have to refine their work many times in order to bring the “best” art values and provide reflection from this visual thinking. The process that goes through the design thinking in this class is similar, but I feel that our design needs to be practical in solving one particular type of a problem.

Anyway, I am going to include two pictures I’ve taken from MoMA as a confirmation that I’ve been there recently …

--

--