Edward Wang
DesignThinkingfall
Published in
1 min readDec 12, 2021

--

Blog 4: Final Reflection

Throughout this course, I developed a fundamental understanding about design thinking concepts. The main project I’ve done over this course is the designed solution for global warming issues, and the area my team focuses on is recycling. The following tasks of the project are the ones that I and my other team members have done:

Design research for facts related to today’s recycling

Interviews with people to understand their opinions about recycling

Mural boards for brainstorming, refining and selecting the best ideas

Journey maps for people that will go through the recycling process

Building, testing and revising prototypes for designed solution

Besides doing these tasks, I discussed the project with my team members in class about the things we should be working on to develop feasible solutions. During the class, there are also some fun activities that help us generate ideas, and that all of us had the opportunities to discuss about various topics in design thinking, such as creativity, visual representation, stories behind innovation, etc.

Overall, I think this course can be useful in the near future. However, I am aware of the fact that for many of the design projects, expertise is the key. I know that the framework for design thinking is there, but a lot more time should be spent on researching all aspects around the solutions that are designed for. Of course, having an open mind to himself/herself and others is always a good start, and learning only takes place when ideas are applied to the real world.

--

--