Final Reflection

Ruoqing Roxy Zhang
DesignThinkingfall
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2021

It is the most different course I have ever taken. I will discuss why in the following components, class content, activity, and group work.

First of all, I want to talk about the class content. At first, I thought design thinking is more like an ability. People who are creative, logical, and innovative are able to perform design thinking. Turns out I was wrong. The process is very important. From our first few weeks, the service map and logical processes, to the last few weeks of actually solving the problem. This whole experience is great for learning and knowing how to break things down into small pieces. It is interesting that in the class of understanding the problem, we learn how to analyze a problem, not jumping into the solution. Sometimes the solution doesn't work because we perceive the problem in a wrong or not that optimized way.

Second, the class activity is so interesting. I always learn something different at the question party. Although I did not get a chance to ask a question because I signed up for the question party in the latter part of the semester. But I did get a chance to interact with classmates at the beginning of the semester. I have been studying psychology since undergrad. I don’t have many chances to interact with students from other disciplines. It is so cool to hear from ideas that are not generated from a psychology mindset. I sometimes love to share what I learn in psychology. But, I could already learn a lot from listening.

Last, I want to talk about our group work. I am so proud of us. At first, we were so confused, worried, lost, and even a little frightened by the idea of climate change. But we overcome it by group work. I would like to thank Jasmine that always has so many great ideas. Renee for being such kind and passionate about everything. Parth always knows stuff we don't know. How crazy! And Nehal for supporting and being contributive all this time. I am less worried when everyone is working together. I knew we were going to be friends from the beginning! We learned a lot of concrete stuff in this class but also acquire soft skills like being a great team player. I think we all did it so well.

--

--