Final Thoughts

Jasmine Phelps
DesignThinkingfall
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2021

Design thinking in general always had this mysterious yet intriguing allure, so when presented with the opportunity to take this class, I jumped at it! I knew (or deeply hoped) that this class would expand how I think, view and eventually solve problems. The most appealing aspect was that there was no cut and dry formula. You have to take the resources given to you and apply them, much like how your therapist won’t tell you the answer, but will give you the tools to navigate a variety of spaces and situations.

One of my favorite tools, by far, is the customer journey map. While for some, this can seem like an obvious step, for me it was mind blowing. Being able to illustrate in great detail a particular experience, step by step, helped me to truly understand the user experience in ways I had not previously considered. As a program/project manager, many times, I only solicited feedback and used that to make necessary changes to the overall program experience. With the customer journey map, it truly helps to zoom in on the design and practicality of what we are providing, to really get a comfortable feel for what our “user” (parents & students in my case) would be experiencing.

Secondly, the methodology in which we used for idea generation was refreshing. Many times when brainstorming, especially with a team, there is a notion to create ideas that could potentially be feasible right now and nearly flushed out. In this class, we were presented with a space that allowed for creativity with endless possibilities, much like being a child. There were no limitations, only the opportunity to create. Going for quantity is a muscle that I need to continue to work on, as I have been so conditioned to do the opposite for so long! Previously, it was always about quality so any one of the ideas can be instantly implemented and mildly modified or built upon. Instead, this tool better allows for multiple things to be true at once.

Some of my least favorite methods were using drawings to visualize our ideas and reframing problems. Truthfully, the only reason why these did not resonate with me is because I was not great at them, nevertheless, here we are. As a known terrible artist, I tend to shy away from drawing as I will be more obsessed over what I cannot draw and properly communicate visually, rather than focusing on what can be. Further, with reframing the problem, it is really a shift in mindset and that is something that will take time. I am excited to at least continue to work on those approaches, as it can really help with my project manager skills.

All in all, I really did enjoy this course because it encouraged me to broaden my horizon and see things in a new perspective. That is not something you get with every class and for that I am humbled and grateful.

--

--